The Newest Fairies

The winners of the fairy wings have been drawn and emailed.  I thoroughly enjoyed all of the entries and I am grateful that you chose to participate!  This could have gone terribly awry, and I tried desperately not to think of that over the past week.

The winners are:

Lauren – who I believe is age 8.  Such a clever young girl.  She came into the office with her dad last week and spent the day looking bored, so I told her about this contest and how she should write a limerick or two to be entered.  Twenty minutes later I got an email with her limerick and nearly burst my seams with laughter.

There once was a fairy from Texas.
Her name was Princess Alexis.
She thought wings were passé,
so she flew every day
o’er the range in her swift silver Lexus.

This was a hands down win after I read it.

The randomly drawn winner is Gareth, who entered several limericks with two other people as a group. Each person in the group was entered individually into the drawing.  Their trio wrote:

There once was a fairy named Jill
Who swallowed a magical pill
Made of Narwhal tears
And Unicorns fears
It’s no surprise she needed whiskey to swill

This is hilarious if you have ever seen this video. Beware- only follow the link if you are ready to have this song stuck in your head for ages.  You will never look at a narwhal the same way again.  In fact, in my house, all we have to do is say the word Narwhal and the song is sung, in harmony, by all.

Also funny and appropriate is this video, which I suspect was truly the inspiration for this limerick.

 Aside from this, I haven’t been doing much exciting work in the house.  Just cutting fabric and knitting in circles – not much to blog about.  Spring break has officially begun and Ellette is spending the first half of it in Milwaukee with the grandparents.  Hopefully, I will be much more productive this week without having my time interrupted by school activities and dinner and bedtime.  We will see.

Thanks again to all who participated in the contest.  Can’t wait to do another!

Circus Smirkus

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

Creative Pixie

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

Peacefully Knitting

Knitting, Needlework, Spinning & More

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Experimental Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Crafty Queens

craft it yourself

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 636 other followers