Pink and Purple

I have been trying to tell myself to work on the big things.  The little things are not difficult and do not require much time (although, granted, I do need more little things than big things).  The big things are not things to procrastinate.  Especially the big things that require a lot of waiting, like paint drying.

One corner of my studio has become the “painting”  corner.  The tarp is semi-permanent, and there has been a steady rotation of wings needing to be painted.  Unfortunately, the wings I need are all of the pink and purple variety, and I am really starting to resent little girls’ obsession with those two colors.  You could say my biggest loss from sales comes from the lack of remaining pink and purple wings.  It’s kind of a bummer to realize that this is truth.  So, I am trying to preempt that by having on hand dozens and dozens of pink and purple wings.

While batches were trying, I was steadily making roses and pompoms, and at least that is something I can do while talking/playing games/watching movies with the family, so we all are satisfied with “quality time”.

On the subject of drying, I have also been felting and blocking top hats and other felted goodies:

It has been getting increasingly difficult to find appropriate articles of clothing to throw into the washer with finished knitted items.  I had to take a shower just to have a “dirty” towel to toss in with them.  Not that I wouldn’t have taken a shower otherwise.  Maybe.

Moving on.

Tomorrow, a friend is coming over to help in any area she can.  I am handing her the bolts of sparkly fabric for the “Celeste” wings and the template and having her cut for the rest of the day while I sew.  Either that or putting her to work making wands and hair clips while I work on top hats and wings.  In any case, tomorrow will be a big crafting day and I look forward to showing you what I have finished.

I feel like I’m a little ahead.  Enough so that I am making dinner for the family before the bolt of lightening strikes me down again.

Leave a Reply

Circus Smirkus

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

Creative Pixie

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

Peacefully Knitting

Art, Knitting, Spinning & More!

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Experimental Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Crafty Queens

craft it yourself

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 599 other followers

