Pieces

Last week at knit night I finished the very last square of the Tech Square Afghan that I began two January’s ago.  The very last square was the fair-isle square, with steeking.  It was my first steek.  I tried to get pictures of the process, but alas, my camera battery died at the very beginning.  For a brief second, I contemplating postponing the cut until the battery was charged, but I was already in the proper frame of mind for taking a pair of scissors to my knitting, and I didn’t want to chicken out.

This morning, remembering it was Thursday and I have been trying to have non-essential knitting at Knit Night, so that I can remember the joys of knitting instead of the tedium of churning out tiny top hats for a living, I quickly washed and blocked the last two squares.

Image

They were dry when I got home from work, so I started laying them out to decide how I am going to put them together into the afghan.

Image

Image

Image

It was remarkably difficult trying to find the right balance of color and stitch pattern.  I didn’t want it to seem color heavy on one side and texture heavy on the other.  I didn’t want too much action on half the blanket and not enough elsewhere.  If you look in the second row up from the bottom, you can see in the picture the salmon pink I started out with (the cables and lace square) all the way on the right, and the darker mauve (Intarsia square all the way on the left) I ended up with on my next LYS trip to restock on yarns.  This isn’t too much of a problem since the colors didn’t ever come together in a square.  Would you believe it is the same color, too?  Dye lots are essential!

I just hope the two different dye lots of brown I picked up for the edging aren’t too obvious.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Something Finished Something Started | Little Green Pixie

Leave a Reply

Circus Smirkus

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

Creative Pixie

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

Peacefully Knitting

Knitting, Needlework, Spinning & More

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Experimental Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Crafty Queens

craft it yourself

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 634 other followers

