Friday

I tried to write a post yesterday.  I started it in a spare moment and then saved it to come back to later.  The only problem was that once I got on a roll, I couldn’t stop.  I kept trudging through the night, not wanting to take a break because taking a break meant stopping, and if I stopped, I didn’t think I would start again.  Sometime after 1am, I realized my productivity was slowing, and it was probably best if I did not at that time try to paint a pretty sign or use sharp needles for felting.

The Celeste wings that were able to get done were completed, bringing my total to 14.  I also made all of my little signs and started piling up the boxes that comprise my portable shop so that this afternoon I could load the car swiftly, allowing me extra time to work on the fairy houses and straggling top hats.  The end is in sight, and it’s tieing knots out of my intestines.  I haven’t been hungry, and I think that is purely a psychological response – if I eat, it means I have to stop, and I can’t stop, so I don’t eat.  My body adjusted quickly.

I did feel it this morning, however, when, on a minute amount of sleep, I was attempting to carry 4 dozens doughnuts into work and could barely make it the one block from the bakery to the office.  My arms were trembling when I finally put the boxes down.  And all I could think of was – “Dang, I have tech rehearsal tonight.  I’m not going to make it.”  I don’t think my body will survive the constant exertions that the weekend will bring – not to mention anything of my mind.  I can feel it slowing down, too.  I’m sort of in la-la land, and the warm sunshine is doing nothing to quell that distraction.  As soon as I walk outside, I’ve spaced completely and I don’t know where I’m going and don’t pay attention to signs – which is a bad things when there are a lot of intersections between my office and my apartment.

With the help of Odin and the Roommate, however, I managed to gather the display items I need and pull all of it into one location.  (Thanks guys!)  Cleaning the car is something that should have been done ages ago, but it always takes necessity for me to take care of the little things like that.  At least, at this point in my fairy career, loading and unloading the car is a pretty easy, efficient job.  My display hasn’t changed too much in the past 2 years, and I have done a few dozen shows in that time period, which means the game of Tetris in the back of my Volvo stationwagon is dominated by my serious spacial reasoning skills.

I’m looking at the weather now, and Saturday in Janesville is going to be amazing, to be followed by a rainy/thunderstorming Sunday.  Fingers crossed the storm passes in the night or dissipates before reaching us.

But, I think I’m ready.  I’m packed.  I’m dressed. I really have to keep my mind in that set right now.

 

Driving away.  See you Monday.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Andrew J. Connors
    May 19, 2012 @ 01:57:59

    Where is your daugther?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Circus Smirkus

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

Creative Pixie

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

Peacefully Knitting

Knitting, Needlework, Spinning & More

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Experimental Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Crafty Queens

craft it yourself

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 599 other followers

