Olympics – Day 13

What a terrible run this has been.  I clearly overestimated how much time I would have to work on this project, and I underestimated the magnitude of the knitting itself.  They make be little, but they sure are time consuming.  The quickest I completed a pawn was 1 hour.  I started on the queen, and an hour later I had only finished her head.

By the way – you think second sock syndrome is bad – try 16th pawn syndrome.  That last one was almost the end of me.  I couldn’t believe I was doing it again, and the stitches stretched on before me and I nearly broke.  I almost threw my towel in.

Today, not much is different.  We are getting closer to end and I am falling farther behind.

I finished the white queen:

And one rook for the white side:

And then I couldn’t do it anymore.  The tiny needles were digging into the sides of my fingers, the tips were causing blisters on my index fingers’ tips.  I thought about calling it quits for real.  Just putting it down for a few days to relax.  There is a lot going on right now, some of which I could anticipate before this all started.  I really should have known better.  I should have known I would not have enough time for it.  I should have found a different way of incorporating my work needs with the Ravelympics.  Like seeing how many Zombie hats I could churn out in two weeks.   Or getting through the rest of the Zigamorph scarves I need to make.  I realize this now, and I won’t make the same mistake.

Yesterday, I dove into my wip bin (really that should be plural, but it’s a bit embarrassing that way).  I came up with the Panda Fan Shawl I had started in Denmark and looked at how much there was left.  I can do that, at least, and still limp across the finish line.

I was working away at it last night and realized that the two skeins of Malabrigo sock are different.  I don’t know how, but they are.  They were gifted to me by a non-knitter, so I really shouldn’t be surprised.  I don’t know if they are completely different colorways, or just dye lots, but if you look closely you will notice that the top fans are much darker than the bottom fans.

Luckily, the placement of these fans is good enough that the color change looks almost intention.  I have been tossing around the idea of knitting the top edge with an even darker blue to further accentuate the difference.  What are your thoughts?

Tomorrow, I will be heading to a crazy quilting class at Stitches Midwest.  I’m incredibly excited about this.  I have been looking forward to it for weeks.  Saturday is the Renaissance Fair again, and Sunday morning I’m taking the Get Published class taught by Shannon Okey.  I’ve got my proposal typed, but I feel that it is lacking by way of samples and pictures.

Leave a Reply

Circus Smirkus

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

Creative Pixie

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

Peacefully Knitting

Knitting, Needlework, Spinning & More

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Experimental Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Crafty Queens

craft it yourself

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 599 other followers

