Two Week Timey Wimey Socks

They are done! I finished weaving in ends last night, hopped up on the coffee table, and proceeded to do a happy dance.  I have finished knee high plain vanilla socks in one day more than two weeks.  It kind of blows my mind at the speed with which they were executed, and I suspect the Doctor may have played a hand in this warping of the time vortex.

image

I love them.  They are so incredibly soft and they fit perfectly.  The yarn is Knit Picks Felici in Time Traveler (a specially produced, small quantity colorway – sorry folks!)

image

I’m kind of amazed at how symmetrical they turned out – this isn’t something I generally care about.  And, truth me told, I kind of wanted them to be crazy almost-matching stripes instead of spot on.  (Yes, that is my dirty laundry in the background – I gave up clean in exchange for knitting.  You are all guilty, too, so hush.)

image

I utilized a small amount of calf shaping and topped them off with some springy 2×2 rib to keep them up where they need to be.

image

 

image

The ease of making the socks has inspired me to dive into my stash and find all that funky yarn I had stashed for cool, colorful, vanilla traveling socks.  I realize that not all socks will be completed in two weeks time.  I am trying to be ok with this knowledge and recognize its truth.  Famous last words.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris Furuya
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 23:11:18

    I really like how precisely the color change landed on that heel it looks like the back is all brown and the bottom is all red. Glad you like them! And glad indeed that they are tall.

    Reply

    • Little Green Pixie
      Apr 10, 2013 @ 10:13:59

      Yeah – that was pretty awesome. I was debating what kind of heel I wanted to do. It was between an afterthought and the short-row, but I wasn’t quite thrilled with the bulls eye effect I saw on Ravelry. Thank you so much for the yarn – it is so comfy!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Circus Smirkus

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

Creative Pixie

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

Peacefully Knitting

Knitting, Needlework, Spinning & More

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Experimental Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Crafty Queens

craft it yourself

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 636 other followers

