Yarn Bomber

I stopped at my dad’s house on my way through Milwaukee as I was expecting a few packages to be delivered.  Seeing as how I do not yet have a stable address I felt it was safest to have them delivered there.  I received several catalogs concerning yarn and the yarn craft.  I was reminded of Yarn Bombing.

popping the graffiti cherryIn New York last fall, in the middle of my East Coast Road Trip, I spent an hour or so in a bookstore waiting for a friend.  I am not a city person, and to avoid the over-stimulation from the crowds, I tend to retreat to safe zones.  Safe zones are primarily coffee shops and book stores.  In this case, I sat down in the “craft” isle and began pulling books off the shelves.  One such book was on yarn graffiti as an emerging art form, what it means, and where it’s going. It’s voice was telling me to be brave, be creative, and leave my mark.

I finally did, in Dallas, Texas the following spring (see above). My daughter and I had finished our tour of the Dallas World Aquarium and were waiting for Odin to get out of a meeting.  We decided to play in the park across from our hotel until he called.  I saw the bench, sat down, and quickly made the little sleeve to sew around the arm.  It felt amazing.  I left a mark in Dallas.  Has anyone seen it?

If you’ve seen yarn graffiti or been a part of it, I would love to hear when and where!  It’s such a brilliant global movement and takes crafting to a whole new level.

Rock on, rebels!

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

