Settling

I have completed reading The Handmade Marketplace, a brilliant guide for crafters such as myself for expanding business and creating a successful company.  That is what inspired me to begin this blog.  And, unfortunately, amidst the chaos of transformation, I have not been as diligent as I would like to be in regards to this blog.

In Breif:

Little Green Pixie

Lesson 1:  Branding, that means – business logo.  This is very important, and previously I was using a black and white photograph of myself.  But recently I have created a new one.  I am working on color and digitizing the design, and finding an affordable, yet dependable, source for creating new business cards, and the ever important tags.  I have begun labeling everything with a tag the says in colorful blocked letters: Little Green Pixie.  It has added a sunshiny touch of class to my product.

 

Lesson 2: Marketing.  I have come up with several methods.  I never leave home without a handy stack of business cards.  You never know who you are going to meet or what quaint little shops you are going to pass.  I leave my cards everywhere and talk to everyone.  Important note: I do not push my product.  If I happen to strike up conversation and it leans toward the “What do you do for a living” I mention the crafting and performing and hand off a card.  A card is also handy when meeting people I would like to meet again, because it holds all of the necessary info for contacting me.  I have been talking to the owners of shops I have frequented and mentioned that I make certain things that I think would go wonderfully with what they carry, such as coffee cozies at a coffee shop!  There are two ways of approaching this.  Wholesale business stance, which is purely professional, and creative gifter wishing to simply spread the joy of creation.  This is where labeling and branding is important.  I am giving little gifts of what I make to potential shops, which they may or may not put on display or use personally.  For instance, a set of coasters to a local coffee shop, with my label on the back of each, for customers to use when they are sitting at the lounge chairs in the shop.

Lesson 3: Determination.  It is a long, difficult, sometimes frustrating process, especially when relocating an established business to a new place.  I am starting basically from scratch with all of my marketing.  This does, however, open up many new possibilities for me.  I can reinvent my image, which I am setting to enthusiastically.  I have a moment to breathe so as to develop that new image and variations on my product line.  I have several new ideas for stock for spring (sneak peak: this handy little leaf shaped pouch for all of those fantasy and renaissance festivals you participate in!  I’m still tweaking the design, but I’m excited about stocking these come April!

 

In short, my life is settling enough here in Evanston that I can actually focus on the business aspect of my life and get that in gear, all greased up and tuned up and revving to go!

 

Look out world!  Pixies are on the loose!

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

