Let it Begin!

…This is the space I had to work with when creating my studio.  Spacious, well lit, and open, right?  That’s what I was thinking.  The slanting roof makes it a little difficult to work with.  Initially, the picture on the right was going to become the main point of my studio, but once I began to put it together, I realized the layout wasn’t as streamlined or inspiring as I’d hoped.

This is a half completed studio in that space.  I stopped when it came to placing tables, because I realized that any place I put the table was either in the shade of the slanted roof or blocking traffic towards the rest of the attic.  If you notice, the stairs are located to the left of the studio space.  Yikes.

I turned my attention towards the other end of the attic.  You see that door down there?  That leads to a small, dark room that’s somewhat full of cobwebs with a gaping hole in the drywall.  Perfect for long term storage, and so it doesn’t need to be easily accessible (I’m hoping to put up a curtain over the door).  Well, my little girl helped me move all of the shelves and boxes to the other end of the attic and had fun drawing while I organized.

I’ve been collecting milk crates from work and trying to create more shelf space, but it’s a slow process.  I’m still trying to figure out how to organize my works-in-progress.  And the white walls are really getting to me.  I’m wondering where I can put curtains up and whether or not I can paint.  I do have these:

I need help screwing these into the wall, but I’m hoping to entice the faeries into my lair and play with my creativity.  What sorts of things can I make now??

 

For now, I leave you with a photo of my daughter’s knitting project.  She is learning how to knit, and having a perfectionist mother, I won’t let her get away with mistakes.  I gently take the yarn from her, show her the mistake and how it happened, and have her correct it.  She’s a trooper!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. potenzmittel
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 12:33:34

    Guten Abend
    Toller Blog, aber leider sehe ich nur die hälfte.Ist Euch das bekannt?
    Liegt das an meinem Safari?

    Alles Gute aus

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

