Knitter’s Holiday Wishlist

1) A friggin’ blocking board.  I am currently using my bed to block the Hemlock Ring Doily Throw that I completed this morning and I doubt my partner will be happy with the fact that our covers might be slightly damp by the time we go to bed.  If the throw is even done drying by that time….(Unfortunately, it is one of the few rooms in the house that I can block and the cat won’t attack it.  She was trying to claim the throw for herself all day!)

2) A Yarn swift.  There are so many tangles of yarn in my stash right now it is ridiculous.

3) A ball winder.  I think perhaps numbers 2 and 3 should be lumped together at this point.  My little fingers are getting tired of winding the yarn over and over again.

4) A bottle of whiskey.  Yup. You try binding off 478 stitches with no fortification other than coffee.

5) An endless supply of movies (thank you, NETFLIX!)  When knitting for business purposes, and thereby churning out the same garments time after time with very little variation, I tend to go a little stir crazy.  I have the patterns memorized, don’t have to think about them, and my mind meanders.  If there isn’t a clear focus, it could mean chaos for my family.  Therefore, having a steady stream of movies (or conversation, for that matter) while I am working, is incredibly helpful.

6) A printer/copy machine. I don’t want to get my significant other in trouble by forwarding him really cool patterns and asking him to quick print them off for me so I can start making them!  He’s done it a few times for me, but I can’t push my luck.

The Hemlock Ring Doily Throw!  I have completed it.  There is something to be said with the excitement of completing a project.  It strikes you in that last stitch bound off.  In the gently soaking and blocking, when you’re placing the needles in place and the beauty of your work pops through the stitches.  I just sat staring at this for a little while, wishing that on this cold cold day I could just wrap up in it’s warm wool stitches and knit some more.

I have also resumed work on the Sweater.  I am currently on band six, the last of the complete bands.  There are two more short bands after this, and then simple stockinette with shaping for the rest!  Photos and a better update will follow shortly, I promise.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

