Keeping Promises

The stick-to-it-ness that I have been experiencing of late has reminded me that not only does this refer to the projects I have been working on recently (the sweater, the plushtsaches, etc.), I have a lot of UFO knits (unfinished object) in random boxes (I found one while cleaning the other day), as well as promises that I did not fulfill.  It is not that I deliberately neglected to keep these promises, it is simply that in the busy-ness of everyday life they fell by the wayside, being deemed less necessary by my subconscious than other projects.

The most prominent of projects that I had intended to get done quickly in 2010, and has stuck with me due to economic circumstances as well as level of priority, has been the dress made entirely out of ties.

I do not remember where the idea for this came from, but it has been with me since sometime in High School.  I went to a performing arts school, so I saw a lot of random items throughout the day that students had created themselves or had decided to set a trend for.  I have a memory of one of my classmates in the wind ensemble had wanted desperately to make a skirt out of astroturf for the school talent show.  I’m pretty sure she did, although I did not see the fashion show that year.

Anyhow, last summer, while perusing a thrift store, I decided it was time I made myself a dress entirely out of ties.  I began to load up on what I could find at that particular store.  Initially I wanted the dress to be browns and greens, since those colors look fantastic with my tan complexion.  Over the summer, however, it became apparent that I was going to find many more red paisley and blue dotted ties than anything else, so the first dress began to take form.  And yes, I do mean first dress.  There will be more.

Now, I was stuck with a skirt for a really long time, as I could not figure out how I wanted the top to look.  More ties?  Solid fabric?  Halter or elastic?  Red? Blue? Black?  So many questions!!  Instead of sitting down and figuring things out, I implemented the ever constant strategy of “put it away until an idea presents itself” and set to work on other projects.

Some time into working at the Other Brother and getting to know the regulars, one of them presented his own project to me.  Brooke has been wearing a different tie every day for the past 200 days.  It has been fun checking out which tie he has on every time he comes in to the coffee shop.  This is part of where fulfilling promises comes in relevance to this post.  When I heard about Brooke’s project, I remembered that dress I had been working on.  He came in with a bag of ties for me to use after I told him I did not have enough ties to go all the way around my body.  And, I promised him photos of the work in progress, which I never did seem to get around to taking.

Well, I keep trying to work on it, as you can see from the photos above.  Unfortuntaley, while I had thought I had it all figured out, I was sorely mistaken.  I shaped the top to the best of my improv sewing ability, put the zipper in, and tried it on.  It looked great, I just couldn’t breathe very well.  I walked into the room where Odin was working to show him, and I inhaled.  Big mistake.  The zipper snapped.  Sooo…back to the drawing board!

On a side note, Brooke told me today about this pretty cool blog about a woman who takes the narliest dresses she can find at thrift stores and reconstructs them into awesome pieces.  This too has proven to be an inspiration.  Check it out!

I also found a box of yarn creations while I was attempting to organize my studio the other day.  So, this afternoon, I decided to find out what UFOs sat within it.  I found these:

My motivation to learn to crochet was inspired by a book on AMIGURUMI I discovered at a book store.  What ensued for the better part of 3 months was a village of mushrooms, faeries, gnomes, and dragons all in an assortment of colors.  I know I had more, but this was all I found in the box.  I remember casting them aside because the tight stitches made my knuckles ache, and aside from that, I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to crochet wings!

I am trying to decide if I should finish them or not.  I do not have any yarn for them left over.  But, there are plenty of yarn stores in the area….

I do feel that, in the spirit of “stick-to-it-ness” that 2011 has brought me, I ought to finish at least what I have started.  Either way, I don’t want to find out that the creative gods decided to punish me for flouting their inspiring gifts…..

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brooke Saucier
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 22:40:01

    Very cool looking dress, Anna! Thanks for mentioning 100 Days, 100 Ties…I’ll put a picture of the dress on there today/tonight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

