Something New

This month I decided to branch out a bit and hit two birds with one stone (being vegetarian, I would rather not kill birds – I would rather not hit birds, but that is how the expression goes…)  First, I decided to join a KAL.  Not only that, but this KAL happened to involve a series of classes in it’s process.

The project?

The Tech Square Afghan.  This is an afghan composed of 12 squares, each exploring a different knitting technique – from Cabling to Fair Isle as well as finishing techniques.  In all, it will allow me to learn techniques I’ve never used as well as perfect the techniques I’ve been using for years.  (For instance, I finally know how to properly execute a provisional cast-on.  What a “Duh” moment that was!)

Once a month, a group of KALers get together at the Mosaic Yarn Studio to work on one square of the afghan together.  Seeing as how there are 12 squares to the afghan, it lines up perfectly with the 12 months in the year.  This project is going to take a loooooong time.  Haha.  My main goal of doing this is to get out and socialize as a 1) Knitter, 2) newbie to the area, and 3) young mom (it is difficult to find people – gals – I have a lot in common with; so knitting moms, no matter the age, I tend to bond with easily).

Well, January was Cables and Lace:

I am using Ella Rae Classic.  I don’t know what I was thinking with this weird Salmon color.  Originally, this skein was going to be used in the Selbu mittens, and next to the gray it looked great.  Then, I decided to go more classic with the mittens and substituted white instead.  So, when this KAL began and the shop suggested using Ella Rae, I thought: “Wonderful! I already have a ball I have no clue what to do with!” and so, the afghan commenced on a rather granny note.  I do not want this to end up like one of those whacked out acrylic afghans everybody’s granny made them in the 70s (you know you have one in your closet!).  I’m hoping to pump it up a bit with some more darker berry colors and maybe a cream and a brown to offset the colorful nature with some neutral tones.  The only thing I can really do now is wait and see how it develops every month.

Check in again mid-February for the next installment: INCREASES!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Birthdays and Blankets « Littlegreenpixie's Blog
  2. Trackback: Pieces « Littlegreenpixie's Blog

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

