An Exercise in Self Control

This post is dedicated to The Village KnitWhiz
Every Knitter’s dream and nightmare.  Funny how sometimes it can be one and the same.  The Village Knit Whiz of Glenview will be closing it’s doors permanently as of 3pm today.  I just found out about this Monday, and made it over to say farewell this afternoon.  This is a nightmare for those for whom this is the closest supplier of their fiber addiction and who must now find an alternative store through which to satiate their cravings.  A dream because, well, 90% off all yarn is a little hard to beat.

This was my exercise in self control.  Every week I receive an envelope with the previous week’s tip distribution.  This ranges from 14 to 60 dollars, depending on how busy the coffee shop was.  This tip money does not figure in to my monthly house budget, since it is so variable, and instead it gets placed in a separate envelope at home aptly labeled: Yarn Addiction Fund.  I don’t need to explain, do I?  Well, I had a hefty sum saved up, as well as the desire to make my little girl a summer dress for her upcoming 6th birthday, and, well….90% off!!

It was just my luck that when I arrived, there was pretty much only novelty yarns left.  Still, I found some interesting pickings.  A few corn fiber yarns, several types of cotton, a plethora of ribbon yarns, and the standard funky fiber glittery yarns as well.  I tried not to grab everything within sight.

My score, however, was this:

A 100% cotton in my daughter’s favorite color, as though it was hiding behind all the puke greens just for us.  This will become that wonderful summer dress (maybe tunic?) that she’s been asking for.  And, I have just over 1 month to design it, and then knit it.

Now the kicker of this adventure is that I went to the checkout, plopped down my bag filled with yarn and waited to hear what damage had been done.  The total?  $26.77

Yep.  Envious?

Now, if only this self-control could extend to finishing that Klimt sweater…

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

