Snow Day Checklist

Well, the midwest was hit by a monster of a storm last night.  Well, really it’s been over 24 hours.  I woke up Tuesday morning with several inches of snow on the ground.  Thought nothing of it as I trudged to work at 6am.  I kept marveling at how peaceful and beautiful the city seemed that early, all covered with a glowing snow as the sun was just starting to rise over the lake.  The only others crazy enough to be out at that time in those conditions were runners.  They gave me a pleasant good morning as we passed each other.

It wasn’t until I arrived home from work and Odin walked in the door that I was confused and looked outside.  Odin doesn’t usually get home until 7 most nights.  To have him home at 3 was very strange.  I got a call that after school activities were cancelled, and then that the Actor’s Gymnasium was shut down (and I was so looking forward to Ellette’s first day of gymnastics!!)  But then I looked, and the wind was blowing so fiercly 4 foot branches were falling out of trees.  Some have compared the sound of the wind to the sound of a tornado.  The snow drifts were higher than the cars, and snow somehow wedged it’s way in between the storm windows and the heavier windows in our apartment.

It’s still going, too.  I had hopes of getting outside for a snowball fight, but it just looks cold and maybe a little dangerous.  I keep looking out of the windows as I pass and watching tree trunks and cars disappear further.

So, at the moment, I am curled up on the couch with a cup of tea and the Leyfi sweater I am working on (the arms!) and thinking about everything I should get done today.  I’m not going to bother numbering, as I will not stick to an order, so you get bullet points!

  • Ideally, finish the Leyfi sweater
  • Find my camera cord to give you guys the photos that have been building up on it!
  • maybe, when the wind stops blowing, shovel the walk
  • Impending snowball fight with the neighborhood?
  • clean up my studio a bit
  • finish making those purses I have all cut out
  • make chocolate chip cookies with Ellette
  • Show Ellette the joys of water colors
  • hot chocolate, wine, and movies
  • organize my yarn stash
  • finish the baby present for the bossman and his wifey.
  • wish I could distract Ellette long enough to work on her dress
  • Clean the house and do laundry (like that’s going to happen!)

So, there you have it.  Current time is 10:08.  How many more hours are left in the day?

Odin just pointed out that I forgot to list “EAT” on that list.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dressingmyself
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 16:55:32

    That sounds like a good day to be indoors. And earlier on I was complaining that it is windy here (and the temperature about 40F).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

