Snow Drifts

It didn’t stop snowing until after noon on Wednesday.  Odin was hard at work on his computer, I was making cup after cup of tea to get me through the day.  I was trying to stick to my checklist, but it didn’t seem likely.

First off, the back door was piled so high with snow we couldn’t budge it.  This meant two things.  One: the only shovel I’ve ever been aware of seeing (because we don’t actually own one ourselves – how silly!) was located on this back porch.  And, two: there was no way I was going to get to laundry, considering I couldn’t get downstairs to the laundry unit.  So, I crossed that off my list.  The walk, thankfully, had already been shoveled by someone else.  And, I suspect it was partly done by the 9 year old boy downstairs.

I just wanted to stay curled up at my computer streaming movies and working on that sweater.  Although I did not manage to finish it yesterday, I did complete most of one sleeve.  I added the cuff to it this afternoon and began work on the other sleeve.  I am loving the nature of top down construction, being able to try it on; I am falling in love with this sweater.  It has further increased my desire to complete this sweater, even though my wrists are starting to protest.  Still, it won’t be long before that one is completed, too.

I didn’t touch Ellette’s dress.  The day was simply too boring for Ellette, cooped up inside, for me to distract her.  She asked to play with the neighbors, but they were all heading toward other friends’ houses in the neighborhood.

It was around 3 when we realized the wind had died down and the sun was out.  Odin put down his laptop and we all decided to go for a walk and survey the neighborhood.  Most people had been out before this and shoveled their walks.  Many had tried to move cars, but the streets hadn’t even been plowed yet.  That wasn’t happening.

Odin, Patrick, and Ellette started tunneling through the snow drifts, which were high enough to tunnel through (and in some cases, necessary to tunnel).  Then Odin discovered a nice size chunk of packed snow and started digging an igloo.  By the time I convinced him to keep walking, it was deep enough for Ellette to crawl into.

Ellette was very warm through all of this.  Observe the wonderful, funky, purple knitted hat in a beautiful chunky baby alpaca.  I found it in a UFO pile at the bottom of a yarn bin.  She asked if she could have it.  I had no idea what I was originally going to do with it so I said sure.  Now, she says it’s her favorite.  Score one Mom.

 

We were told to check out the lake, which is a solid sheet of ice and ice bergs as far as the eye can see.  This is Lake Michigan I’m talking about here.  To see something of that magnitude was awesome.  The walk there was peaceful as well.  It wasn’t altogether that cold really.  The streets were mostly shut down, and some even had police cars blocking them.  Pedestrians took to walking in the packed down street than on the unshoveled sidewalks. and we were no exceptions.  It was almost eerie to a point, like we’d just lived through The Day After Tomorrow.

We did take a minute to get these photographs:

Ah….snow days…..how wonderful.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

