A Spoon Full of Sugar……or maybe whiskey

The most effective illness/bad day remedy I have ever come across was given to me in a little town called Glencolmcille in Co. Donegal, Ireland.  It was my first trip out of the country.  My first time flying for more than 2 hours.  And it was winter.  In Ireland.  I was a poor, 18 year old archaeology driven college student.  And I had caught a cold.  Remedy number 1: a trip to the pub for my first ever pint of beer.  Remedy number 2: a cup of hot whiskey.

Whiskey, lemon, clove, sugar, topped off with hot water.  I was in stuffy nose heaven.

Since that fateful day some years ago, I have prescribed hot whiskey to friends and self countless times.  It has always been my first choice when I can’t sleep, when I can’t breathe, and when I’m too exhausted to move.

And, today, my friends, was an all around bad day.  It started off bad.  I’m pretty sure it’s going to end bad.  And, with the exception of a burp of an hour on a trapeze, it was bad in the middle.  Sour milk bad.  Cat poo on the floor bad (which was my treat when I arrived home no less!)  And I am grateful that my 5 – almost 6 – year old recognizes that mommy needs some space and that we still have some Bunabhainn on the liquor shelf.

To that burp of an hour, however.  Today kicked off the start of my classes at the Actor’s Gymnasium.  For one hour every Friday I engage in aerial acrobatics.  While I have had minute experience with silks (thanks to, Tribal Circus and their adorable little girl Kia!), it has been some time since I was last as active as was required of me this afternoon.  At the time when I traded sitting for lessons, I had also taken 9+ hours a week in dance and yoga studies, worked on core strengthening, and juggled pretty much daily.  I was learning hula hoop (which couldn’t be taken off my hips on the nice sunny summer days) and basically, I had some pretty decent core, bicep, and leg strength.  Oh, and endurance.  That’s key.

So today, for this beginning aerial lesson (note: BEGINNING), I was not expecting too much demand to be placed on every single muscle in my body simultaneously.  I was expecting to gradually increase demands as the weeks commence.  I was very, very wrong.  I was required to work on several different maneuvers and combinations, working core, biceps, triceps, pecks, back (all of it), ankles, wrists, and hands.  By the end, when we were presented with the most complex set of instructions on the trapeze, I groaned and though my arms would fail.  In fact, in the middle of a maneuver, my arms started qwacking and I had to dismount quickly, and, well, unceremoniously.

All I wanted to do when I got home as lay down on the couch, watch TV, and knit.  Just knit.

But my arms were too sore to actually hold the yarn.  Or move the needles.

Disaster!

Followed closely by a cup of hot whiskey.  Maybe two…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly M
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 15:51:14

    If you keep up with all these shenanigans, how will you every finish Klimt? I need you to finish! I have my yarn and am finishing off a project that is on the needles I need but it’s taking forever. So I look to you to keep me inspired. No pressure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

