Counting My Blessings

There are some things that you will never be “caught up” on.  Laundry, for instance.  And dishes.  And groceries.   There is hardly any bother to cross it off of your to-do list.  Yet I do.  Every single time I finish folding laundry and putting it neatly in the closet or the dressers.  I cross that task off my list – only to replace it several days later.

It is in the act of crossing things off that I feel my sense of accomplishment.  I am wiping it from my mind.  One less worry.  One more thing taken care of.

So, today I am reflecting, and remembering to count.

There is no school in Evanston today – I am not entirely sure why.  Ellette was missing Grandma and Grandpa fiercely so I suggested a weekend with them.  It is Coffeefest here in Chicago this weekend and I am itching to go.  This is not the sort of thing Ellette would like to be dragged along to, so it benefits both of us to have her out of the house.

Last night Odin and I drove her to Milwaukee.  Then, we went dancing.  We used to go dancing every week when we were in Milwaukee, but parents were close to watch Ellette.  Since moving, we really haven’t been out much.  So we are taking advantage of it.

Today I have off of work, although my day is broken up by aerial class. I spent the morning knitting, a little yarn organizing, and going through all of the mail that had been sent to my old place in Milwaukee (which my former roommate so kindly returned to us last night).  While that wasn’t the happiest moment of my day (bills…ugh)  I am happy knowing that it is a balmy 50 degrees Farenheit, the sun is shining and the sky is clear.  The heater hasn’t kicked on at all today, the house is gloriously quiet, laundry is being washed as we speak, and I am working on these:

A sexy little pair of adult bloomers, made from yarn I discovered in my stash.  I’ve had to frog them once, but I think I have the pattern down now.  Completely my own invention, and I think I am going to offer the pattern on etsy when I’m done.  Trust me, there are many variations of this that will be coming out as well.

I also went to the yarn store yesterday and picked up the rest of the color pallete for the Tech Square Afghan:

I am loving the color scheme!  Very bright and vibrant.  I missed class on the 9th, as my car was frozen in a block of ice and it took a pound of salt and a hammer to free myself.  I will be working the increase square myself over the next two weeks, and March is decreases.

I’m enjoying this little vacation.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

