12 Dancing (Faery) Princesses

What a day!  I apologize for not posting yesterday like I had intended.  By the end of it I was significantly exhausted.  I curled up on the couch with a salad and watched The Lost Boys.

Anyway, I think we sucessfully turned our home into Neverland.

I was somewhat amused when guests began arriving.  I heard “charming,” “cute” and “beautiful” along with “Is this what your place always looks like?”  Do I seem like the kind of person that lives in Neverland always?  Haha.  Although, admittedly, part of me doesn’t want to take down the decorations.  I could just leave them up, but I don’t think the others in the house would appreciate that.  Ellette might, but not the boys.

Our cat, while a little shy at first, thoroughly enjoyed the attention she got from the gaggle of girls.  She especially like this girl here, who let the cat chase her wand (the cat also kept jumping at her skirt!)  Eventually, towards the conclusion of the party, the cat was exhausted and overstimulated, and took to hiding under the couch and avoiding the girls as best she could.

Odin, in his rather dashing top hat, helped the girls make their faery houses as I was in the other room doing facepainting.  It was a huge help to have the activities separated by room.  The guests arrived and were naturally drawn to the living room, where there were boxes of dress up clothes and wings strewn about.  Some of the girls changed their outfits and wings several times throughout the party.  I gave them all faery make-up, and then one girl asked for a dolphin on her arm as well as the make-up and I had half the party coming up to me asking for the same.  It’s amusing how easily the girls start micro trends.

Here’s the best group shot we have; Odin stood on the couch while we opened presents.  Ellette loved her haul, including mostly art supplies, many of which were faery themed, obviously.  She couldn’t wait to get started and hated that I told her to wait until her guests had left.

Afterwards, a massive dance party ensued:

Followed closely by Follow-the-Faery until mothers arrived to collect their children.  We all had a blast and I have no regrets about inviting a dozen little girls into my house for 2 hours.  I would do it again if that’s what Ellette wanted.

After everyone left, our cat fell asleep on the couch, and when I took a picture she gave me this look:

You may also have noticed that Ellette is wearing a certain lavender hand-knit dress in all of these pictures.

She loves her birthday dress!

One more picture before I leave.  Our neighbor’s son, Matthew, cheers for his older sister’s basketball team.  He’s sort of the cute 5-year-old tiger mascot.  Before the party, his dad brought him over to our house, where I completed his ensemble with a bit of facepaint:

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

