3…2…1…

I finished packing.  Although, I will probably continue to add and take away things before we actually leave.  But, I am quite proud of myself for actually having space left in my suitcase!  Pixie – 1; Luggage – Zip.

Now, I am sure some of you are itching to know what projects I am taking along.  Initially, I had a bunch of odds and ends to crochet amigurumi on the plane, since I always seem to get my needles taken away from me.  Not this time!  I found the tiniest set of circulars at a yarn store yesterday – a whopping 9″ in circumference with needles that are an inch long – maybe?  Do you know what they are perfect for?  Socks.  So, I have 2 balls of Berrocco Sox Metallic that I have had for-freakin-ever that I am going to somewhat industriously turn into socks while I am in transit.  Possibly.  At least one sock.

I have never been a sock knitter.  Something about it always seemed long and drawn out and tedious to me.  I am hoping necessity will kick it out of me and I will begin knitting socks up the wazoo.  Socks are the affordable way to knit and are easily transportable.  Mindless or complex depending on what I need.  So what’s holding me back.  The fact that there are two!

Okay okay okay.  So, for some reason I packed two balls of sock yarn (enough for two pairs) into my carry-on.  Optimism.  What’s in my checked luggage?  Well, the Bacchus socks from the other day.  As well as2 skeins of Malabrigo Sock in a beautiful gray blue that I am going to turn into a shawl.  (Have I ever told you how obsessed fond I am of Malabrigo?) I also have mitten yarn (for a pair I am designing, and need inspiration for) as well as, just in case I run out of projects, two skeins of Glace for wrist cuffs.  Just in case, you know.  One can never be too careful.

Yarn – 10, Pixie – nada.

I still managed to fit most everything I need in one suitcase, with room to spare – with, of course, the exception of the few items that are going in my carry-on (laptop, camera, some yarn, cables and cords, and a change of clothes).

Now then, my itinerary:

I will be flying out of Chicago tomorrow, with a layover in Montreal (or was it Michigan?) and then continuing on to Frankfurt.  From Frankfurt, we rent a car and drive to Arhus, Denmark, where I will be spending the better part of two weeks (I am still researching day trips).  My grandpa called today to give me the contact information for the handful of relatives I have in Denmark (Baelum – I believe?)  and I am hoping dearly that I can get in touch with them and meet this portion of the family I have only heard stories about.  I remember as a kid, one year at Christmas, receiving presents from them, and wanting desperately to know who they are.

At the end of two weeks, we will be driving back to Frankfurt and flying to Montpellier, France, to meet friends of Odin.  After a sunny weekend on the Mediterranean, we will be returning to Frankfurt one last time and flying back home.

Obviously, plans will be updated at the last minute as far as day trips.  But keep checking in!

I will most likely update again Tuesday evening or Wednesday morning.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

