Passing

A few days after I arrived in Europe, I attempted to contact my mother with no success.  I received a message later that my grandmother was in the hospital and not doing well.  I thought about her often and hoped she would get better – my grandmother being a determined and persistent woman.

I finally reached my sister today and heard that my grandmother passed on Thursday.

It is not as though this was unexpected – she has been in and out of the hospital for some time now.  And I am sad, yes, but I am also glad that she is at peace.   My biggest disappointment is that I could not be with my family through any of it.

My grandmother was a war bride, coming to America from Czechoslovakia after WWII with my grandfather.  She did not talk to us much about her past or her family – although I remember her reading a holiday card to us as a child which had been written by her family in the Czech Republic.  Odin was actually able to get more information from her about her past than I had ever heard before, and I soaked up everything she had to say.

I am sad to have lost the wealth of stories and the language she carried with her throughout her life.  I am sad I could not be there through any of the sorrow.  All I can do now is remember.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. michimusic
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 16:25:57

    I’m very sorry for your family’s loss. Hoping for as much peace as possible, for all of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

