Not in Dubuque

I know, I should be in Dubuque right now working at the Renaissance Festival.  Severe thunderstorm warnings kept me tucked inside last night, deciding it would be much safer to stay home Saturday and head out Sunday.  Except that now my car is not starting.  Odin and I were outside for about an hour trying to assess the damage and how to fix it.  He’s still out there trying to figure it out.

Me?  Today I decided to go to the YEA festival, which happened to be going on not two blocks from our apartment.  Ellette’s school was set up, so we were able to see the wonderful things the artists in her class and school were making.

It was a lot of fun.  We saw many creative creations from the different Evanston schools and saw many of Ellette’s classmates.

Then, after about an hour of wandering, I decided to ask someone if I could set up a face-painting table for the remainder of the festival.

Well, everyone loved it and I handed out loads of business cards.  It felt good to be in the middle of a street festival again, although I wasn’t dressed up like my usual faery self:

This is my favorite picture of my get-up.  I love being Pixie the Face Painter.  Kids love her.

Around the middle of the day it began to rain.  I was amazed at how quickly the volunteers asked if I needed help – rain coat, trap, awning.  I was handed a tarp, but didn’t really know what to do with it, and then a parent offered to help.  It was heart warming to watch as the line circled me, with the kids in the middle, waiting their turn, and the adults on the outside, holding up the tarp – over the crowd, myself, and my paints.  It was wonderful and I kept thanking the kids and the parents for being so kind and cooperative.  I love watching communities come together like this.

Since my car is not starting, I will not be in Dubuque tomorrow either – which is kind of a bummer because I need the work.  I suppose instead I will be photographing the stock and listing it on etsy, as well as getting some items ready to mail to the consignment shops I work with.  Check back tomorrow to see what I list and how to get it for yourself!

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

