I Found Fairies in the Park

Today the sun was shining,bringing warmth and humidity to Chicagoland.  Ellette and I took a walk this morning to the Brothers K Coffeehouse and spent a few hours playing games and knitting.  Then, we decided to trek to the park with a box of wings and take pictures.

Inbetween playing on the jungle gym, she was my very cute model of the pixie hats I make.  I finally managed to get them on etsy – here, here, here, and here.  The one hard part of getting her to model was that she kept getting bored and goofing off.  I have many photos of her stomping through the grass making funny faces, hoping I would catch at least one decent pose.  In the end I had to coach her a little in “How to Act Like a Fairy.”

While she was working out her energy on the playground, I used my classic method of tying wings to tree trunks to take photos.  While this is not the ideal method for photographing the goods, it works well for the less expensive things.  The more expensive items usually get their own photo shoot.  Like this one:

and this one

These sets have been sold, and thusly moved from the “for sale” bin to the portfolio bin.  The pictures are no less stunning!!

So, I photographed my nylon wings:

This set now available here.  The rest still need to be uploaded – there were many.

And my favorite – the Celeste Wings.  This was a design I created after discovering the appeal of “fluttering” wings.  They are still affordable, while being a bit more “grown up” and sturdy.

So far, there are three sets listed on etsy, including those pictured above, and they are available here, here, and here.

Also, if you have an idea for a custom order (or just in general), contact me!!  I can give you a quote (or quotes) for the style and materials.  For instance, I am working on a pair of DaVinci wings for a friend – steampunk and sturdy and perfect, and doing everything I can to fit it into her price range.  Sketches are being drawn and tiny prototypes made to find out what design works best for her needs.  If you are interested in your own pair of wings, send me an email at thewishingstarAThotmailDOTcom.  In the subject, write “custom wings” and let me know what you’re thinking, what your price range is, and when you need them by, and I will contact you right away with my ideas!

(PS: the two modeled photos of wings are courtesy of Wolfie – a dear friend a wonderful photographer to work with!)

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

The Creative Pixie

eat up some crafty goodness with this creative mama

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

Circus Thoughts From Circus People

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

circus of humanity

A site dedicated to Circus/Performance Arts, Freaks and Geeks, Self-Acceptance, Financial Freedom, and Enjoying the Journey!