Like Clockwork

So, Sunday night there was a steampunk performance at the Celtic Knot, by the Absinthe Minded Professors.  My inner gears started turning, and after doing some Ravelry searches, stitch counts, and purusing the world wide web, I was inspired.

I figured out what I wanted to do and couldn’t stop.  I stayed up way too late working my way through a skein of Rowan Bamboo.  I have 4 more to work with in this colorway, and two more in a slightly steampunk color as well.

I haven’t quite decided exactly what to do with it.  I keep laying it out on the table in different combinations, is it a scarf? A shawl? A bracelet (or many?) ? – any suggestions?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michimusic
    May 26, 2011 @ 14:16:21

    OoO!!! I am seeing black corsets adorned with these….they’d be So much lighter than the drawer pulls, knobs and grain distributors I’ve been strapping to myself! 😉

    Reply

  2. michimusic
    May 26, 2011 @ 14:17:14

    another cool idea…could they somehow be snapped on or attached in a way that various “gears” could actually “turn”?

    Reply

  3. Little Green Pixie
    May 26, 2011 @ 16:55:19

    So, I am just turning them out mindlessly. I would be more than happy to give you some for a corset. And, I think my only chance for making them “turn” would be to get some fabric stiffener. And even then it is a hit or miss. You are not the first one to suggest piecing them together that way. What I have been thinking is making a stole out of them with antique skeleton keys (of which I have many) as fringe.

    The gears are in all different shapes and sizes. The small ones might work well as earrings or pieced together into bracelets. I am currently trying to find more of the yarn so I can just keep making them. They are a little addictive….

    Reply

  4. michimusic
    May 27, 2011 @ 10:16:50

    Oo! Keys! Yay! I wouldn’t mind putting 1 or 2 of those on a pin I can attach to my corset. Did you see the black hanky I had with white gear embroidered?

    Glad to see the creative juices flowed in your direction 🙂 I laughed when I packed my little top hat lat night….it fits Perfectly in the box for my download cards. As if it were made to be!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

