New Kids on the Block

We moved to Evanston in October.  We survived our first winter easily – there were no social functions or expectations to bother us and it was perfectly acceptable to be holed up in our apartment, perfectly content not to be outside in the negative degree weather with the car deep snow drifts and bitter winds.

Today, however, was the first real day of summer.  There are just two short weeks before school is out (and I still don’t know what to do with Ellette for the summer!), there was a series of storms over the weekend, which meant that as soon as the sun came out today, humidity levels sky rocketed and even the shade was muggy and thick.

Today, the world slowed.  People were outside – the young boys across the street had a yard sale, people tended gardens, went to the beach, took bike rides, and simply enjoyed the sunshine – and complained about the heat.

My day was spent, after an emotionally exhausting weekend, making chili for the afternoon’s block party and cleaning up my craft room to make room for what crafts I inherited from my dearly departed grandmother.  Odin spent most of the day building a wind surfer, which he has been a bit obsessive about.  And then I packed up my juggling toys, we loaded our chili onto a platter, and we walked to the next block, which had been barricaded from cars, included a fire truck at one end, and a bouncy castle in someone’s yard.

This was my first experience in this type of setting – the traditional block party.  I felt so strange, and spent more time juggling with the kids than chatting with the adults.  At least with the kids things are simple.  What cool tricks can you do?  Let’s play catch and run in the water and let me tell you all about what I hate about this kid who sits next to me or the weird thing so-and-so can do with yogurt.  There’s nothing to decipher and no clique to infiltrate.  You just are.

Odin geeked out with the dads and husbands.  We met up again to talk with some “neighborhood freaks” as they classified themselves and had a grand time talking about Germany and Evanston and the differences between and then I was drawn to helping kids juggle and Odin disappeared.  Shortly after the party was over, and Ellette and I made our way back home.

In all, it was a very fun day.  Good to get to know our neighbors, Ellette made friends, and we had delicious food.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. michimusic
    May 31, 2011 @ 12:37:14

    Love! I was so happy I had a day with friends and family yesterday too. bonus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

