Pillow Talk

As you have probably already read, I have had a crazy summer.  One more week – I am counting the days – until my summer is “officially” over.  I have started going stir-crazy.

There are signifier for this phenomenon.  Mainly, the sudden urge to make a ton of frivolous things just because, the urge to rearrange furniture, and, for some reason, the urge to cut and dye my hair.  Well, obviously the first thing didn’t work, because I have moved on to rearranging the house.  Not just the furniture in one room, but everything in every room.  Yesterday, I measured all of the items, all of the floors and windows, and drew up a floor plan of our house.  Then, I cut out pieces to scale for every item of furniture we own.  The dining table is now covered with a miniature floor plan of our house.  Today, I started cleaning and moving things around.

But this post is aimed at showing you the frivolous items that were my first attempt at regaining control of my sanity.

I have been making pillows.  Perhaps the inspiration came from the desire for something comforting.  Pillows are great to hold on to in times of stress.  Perhaps it came from my new pillow book from Shannon Okey (okay, not really new, but I just received it in the mail not too long ago).   It could also be the enormous amount of crazy fabric I was gifted by the various interior decorating offices in our area (I love those discontinued sampler books!) and the bags of fiberfill I scavenged from Grandma’s craft room.

I made your basic rectangular pillow.  This one uses some of the trim from Grandma.

This is scraps of samplers.  I love the contrast of shape and the vivid lime color of the pieces.

Then I got bored and started experimenting with shapes.  This was a bit difficult to throw myself in to.  I actually sewed it together, turned inside out, let it sit there, stuffed it, let it sit there, and finally stitched it closed.  I wasn’t quite sure if I liked it or not.  The other side is inverse of the circles (red background, beige circles).  Ellette seems to enjoy it though.

This I think is everyone’s favorite.  It is soft and fuzzy.  Ellette likes the splash of design from the circles.  It is a good pillow for bolstering yourself with on the couch.

I have tons more fabric, but I am running low on the stuffing.  I might have another two pillows to make before I run out and pillow making ceases.  But for now, I like the excess amount of comfy pillows laying around the house.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

