Catching Up

It’s over.  Summer.  You can feel it in the air, hear it in the trees as the leaves rattled against each other, excited for the change.  It’s crisp, it’s darker longer, and the sunlight is gold.

Last week marked the last weekend of the Renaissance festival and the return of my life.  I spent a glorious Tuesday doing absolutely nothing.  I knit what I wanted to, I ate whatever was available.  I didn’t step outside until it was time to pick up Ellette from school and take her to gymnastics.  It was peace.

I tried to catch up on the Tech Square Afghan, seeing as how I have fallen drastically behind this summer.

The entrelac square was actually supposed to be August, with the intarsia filling in for July.  I am out of blue and don’t feel like driving to the yarn store (I know!  I’m THAT exhausted!) so I began swapping squares.  So, this is the July square, which I completed Monday night (sans blocking).

If you missed it, UFO Hunting shows the images from May and June – June is still not finished.  It needs the embellishments yet (I’m working on it!).

This is August – the slipped stitch square (actually meant for November).  I found it complicated at first, and then it flew right along.  I like this method of colorwork, although I think I can keep tension and drags better when working intarsia or fair isle.  I still have to work the border on this one.  Once that’s done, it’s a trip to the yarn store to restock on Ella Rae for the rest of the year and the border.  I am excited that I am more than half done right now, and begin envisioning the completed item.

Oh yeah, you see that bowl thing in the corner?  That’s my new yarn bowl – custom made by St. Ives Pottery, a shop at Bristol.

I’ve been using it nonstop.  I adore it.  I just wish Mike had a website I could direct you to.

Besides this, I just received in the mail the yarn necessary to make the Dr. Who scarf that has been requested.

More to come about this scarf either tomorrow or the following day.  I am rather excited about this, although I realize I may be begging someone to cut off my hands in a month.

 

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

