Who?

The Project: an authentic as possible, Tom Baker, Doctor Who scarf

The length and width of the original scarf is 11 inches wide by roughly 12 feet long.  It includes 7 colors (red, beige, brown, green, yellow, gray and purple) and comes complete with tassles on the ends.

The Deadline: Halloween 2011

The Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Superwash (purchased from Yarn Mountain at a steal!) in Wild Honey, Mysterious Fuchsia, Red Baron, Cactus, Charcoal Heather, Oats ‘n Cream, and Pecan Toffee – this yarn is so beautifully squishable I want to order so much more to make all sorts of sweaters and cardigans for everyone!

My Work To Date:

There are 1042 Rows to this scarf.  The only memorizable portion is the stitch – which is garter, and therefore mindless.  I cast on 55 stitches using a size 6 needle, which means that I will be knitting 57, 310 stitches total.  (Yeah, you know what that means when I start bringing math into knitting).

Because the brown was shipped separate and I was forced to stop at that point, I have only completed 5.75 % of the scarf (yeah, math.  What are you gonna do about it?)

So far, the project is amusing and enchanting.  I love the yarn, enjoy the mindlessness of it, and look forward to watching, for the first time ever, the complete series (original and new), which I have never seen before.  This is a commission from a friend so I am going to make it as easy and enjoyable as possible for myself.  There are many resources out there, and I am mainly using the wisdom of one who has gone before me in this endeavor. (click this! to gain the knowledge!)

Ask me in a month how I am feeling and I imagine I will have quite different things to say!

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

