Almost Over

Last night, I cast off the last stitches of the scarf.

This morning, I grafted the two pieces together.

I pulled out the grafted stitches about four times, checked references, tried again, pulled it out, contemplated chewing scarf to little bits, and tried again. Realized the proper way to graft garter stitch would be to stop knitting one row before end.  Decided you wouldn’t notice the one row of stockinette after it has been blocked anyway.

Finished.

Scarf needed before Halloween.  I will actually be in the same town as the recipient on the day of my Grandpa’s birthday, so  I hope to cross paths at some point and hand over a perfectly completed scarf.  17 days to go – and I have to weave in the ends, block, and add the tassles to the ends.

I realized about halfway through that I hadn’t been weaving in the ends as I went, and noted that this would have been the smart thing to do and it wasn’t too late to start.  And still I did not weave them in as I went.  Now I pay the price.

I am dreading these final stages.  My sanity will truly be tested.

So close!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yarnsville
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 17:48:30

    Either the perspective on the photos is way skewed, or this scarf is just INCREDIBLE! I’m in awe, well done you!

    Reply

    • Little Green Pixie
      Sep 29, 2011 @ 21:33:18

      It is not skewed. My daughter and I stretched it out before the photo to see how far it needed blocking, and it reached the room end to end. It’s about 12 feet long. For 5’4″ me, that means I can wrap around myself and the ends drag on the floor. It is a fantastic scarf, and luckily the Doctor Who series is interesting enough that I got over the mindless garter stitch.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

