Things I Am Thankful For…

  1. My family – without whose craziness I would not be the person I am today.
  2. My daughter – who is a bubbly ray of sunshine at all times of day, is growing up to say the darnedest things, and who is constantly surprising.  I am thoroughly enjoying watching her grow up; if a little bittersweet that I am becoming less and less of a direct role in shaping that growth.
  3. Odin, because it’s so hard to find someone as crazy, serious, and ambitious as I am; who uses reason and logic but can understand (or try to) the need for art and performance and chaos.
  4. Coffee, for waking the world up, giving me a job, and teaching me so much about other cultures, geography, science, and myself.  It was a happenstance that I entered the coffee industry, but I have enjoyed the experiences I had.  In 10 days, I will be leaving the coffee industry for more stable employment, which I feel is necessary at this stage in my life and will be fraught with it’s own challenges and opportunities.
  5. Crafters.  I wanted to say Knitters, but I stopped myself.  Most individuals in the crafting world, while crafting is mostly a solitary activity, enjoy the community that builds around us.  Upon moving to the Chicagoland area, my first goal was to find a knit night or craft night because I knew that, while it may be difficult to make friends on the street, or at work, or by chance, here was a community already established and waiting with open arms to welcome more in.  All I had to do was sit down with my sewing or knitting and I would instantly be part of the group.  And likewise, when I travel, I know that I have friends-to-be in every yarn store.  The phrase “That’s so nice, did you make that?” instantly inspires conversation and even friendships – and I can’t tell you how many people I have met and am still in contact with for whom that phrase was the ice breaker.
  6. Our cat, for being the comic relief in our family.

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

