Perhaps You Can Help

I have a problem.  I want to make Ellette a sweater for Christmas.  I don’t usually make Ellette things (outside of hats and toys), so something she can wrap herself up in would be awesome.

I bought a skein of Cascade Eco + when I was in the Windy Knitty, because it fit my price range, was the perfect shade of variegated lavender and was a bulky wool.

Now, I am searching scouring Ravelry for the perfect pattern.  But I can’t find it!  This is what I get for starting this one last.

I want something sort of like a swing coat, with a loose bottom and cuffs.  Not flared, I think that would get in the way, just not fitted.  I was hoping for something seamed, so the weight of the wool wouldn’t stretch it out of shape, and with a couple of buttons at the top, or a tie.  Preferably, using only 478 uds of yarn too.

All I am finding are baby sweaters, sweaters at the wrong gauge, or not quite right sweaters.

If I were a better designer, I would just say I can make my own.  And, at any other point in the year, that is exactly what I would say.  I have one week to pick a pattern and make it before we leave.  I can work on it in the car during the 13 hour trip and block it in Virginia, but hiding it from Ellette would be quite an undertaking.  I could ignore blocking it until we get home, however.

Anyway, what I am thinking, and perhaps whoever is reading this with more knitterly wisdom than myself can direct my choices and maybe tell me a good way to modify the patterns…

I found this old photocopy in a pile of really old knitting books a friend gave me:

The Best Friend Cardigan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think I can meet gauge if I hold the yarn double, and should have enough from one skein of Cascade Eco +.

I love the shape and design of the Garter Yoke Cardi from Knit.1 Fall/Winter 2008:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But that would require some serious modifying on my part.

Similar to that are these cardigans for babies:

Garter Yoke Baby Cardi (Check out her blog!  It’s fun!)

And Swing Thing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think that last one might be the closest I have come.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

I’m getting awfully desperate.  And don’t sit back, waiting for me to have a meltdown because you think it would be funny.  That’s just cruel.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pattiisknittinginflashes
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 19:50:31

    Elizabeth Zimmermann’s February baby sweater (aka baby sweater on two needles) is swingy and can be made in various sizes if you do the math. Do you have a copy of that pattern? It’s in Knitter’s Almanac. I made one for my granddaughter and she loved it.

    Reply

  2. Little Green Pixie
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 21:50:06

    I do not own the book, but perhaps I can improve a feather and fan into one of the patterns above? They are free/downloadable/already owned. Knitter’s Almanac has been on the list for quite some time, but I found myself purchasing more yarn than books lately. So many ideas and ambitions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

