In the Meantime

I made a gallant effort at writing the Tetris aghan pattern yesterday.  Really gallant.  Truly noble.

It left me cursing harshly at the computer and groaning at every turn as I tried to turn a table into a chart into a JPEG.  Open office, while doing most of what Word does, has failed me miserably, and I do think the time has come for me to break down and download Knit Visualizer – especially as my patterns become more complex and colorful.

This meant that I had nothing to show you yesterday, like I had hoped.  I wanted to get the pattern done, upload it, and offer it to you, and hadn’t prepared anything as Plan B.

I am feeling rather frazzled, preceding the Tetris fiasco.  My darling Ellette’s birthday is fast approaching, and on Saturday we will have a house full of little girls for a Sleep Under.

Sleep under? you ask.  It appears to be an exclusive Evanstonian housewife concept, but I like it.

You know what a sleep over is.  A bunch of kids come over, with sleeping bags, you watch movies, eat junk food, stay up all night.

Well a sleep under is just that, except the kids don’t stay over.  They go home at some point – just before everyone falls asleep involuntarily.

So, Saturday, 5 girls will be invading our house.  We will be making personal pizzas, decorating headbands, making popcorn and enjoying cupcakes, and then settling into our sleeping bags to watch a movie.  I tried so hard to get Ellette to chose Cinderella – that 90s version with Brandy and Whitney Houston.  I love that one.  She is adament on Arthur and the Invisibles (also an adorable movie!)

This week I have been desperately cleaning the house and gathering party supplies, trying to convince Ellette that cupcakes and marshmallows to look like popcorn – while a cute idea – might be too much sugar.  She’s not budging.  And, it is her party after all.

Odin bought a helium tank to fill balloons – I can’t wait to have fun with that Saturday morning.

More news to come as the party approaches and the last shreds of sanity depart.

 

(PS: I don’t know what the F happened, but if you received/saw a million posts with various portions of this one, please forgive.  I think the app I used for wordpress has some bugs to work out, and at various intervals of my post-writing, it decided to publish the text thus far.  I think I’ve got it fixed – and thank you for your patience.)

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

