Birthdays and Blankets

I finally feel well enough to do things after the phenomenal birthday party.  It was terribly exhausting for us, and may have gone on past our threshold – but we hung in there.

The pizza was a huge success.  We didn’t know what extra toppings to get with the cutie pie kits from Homemade Pizza Co., so we went with pepperoni, pineapple, and tomato.  The pepperoni was used.  And then the girls got creative with the pineapple.  Some of them were adventurous and put it on their pizza.  Mostly, they liked to make pictures with the pieces and gobble them up.  Odin and I got ourselves a pizza as well, which was good because I had no thought to my own welfare during all of this.

I’m amazed at how excited the girls were for Ellette to open presents.  They all knew she would love their gifts and couldn’t wait to see her excitement.  They chose presents before cupcakes.  I had labored tirelessly over the cupcakes, by the way.  I convinced Ellette not to go with the marshmallow popcorn idea she had (don’t ask) and instead I made “sleepover” cupcakes:

Somehow, I suffered camnesia through most of the evening.  I didn’t even think to get photos of the cupcake creations until the kids had started eating.  I shrieked a “wait!” and then ran around the table trying to take pictures quickly.  They all looked at me like I had lost my marbles – which I suppose by that point I had.

They settled down for a movie and I wandered back and forth, making sure they were comfy, unafraid, watered, bathroomed, and given ample girl sleepover privacy.

I was totally relieved when 3 of the guests departed for the night.  The other 2 were spending the whole night with us, so as soon as I could I had them make their beds and brush their teeth.  I saw them to bed, turned out the light, and retreated to my own room where, through the open door, I could still hear their giggles and whispers for some time.

Sunday was spent recouping.  Ellette lazed around for the morning and then started playing with the trillion balloons that once held helium and had sadly sunk to the floor overnight.  I watched episode after episode of Once Upon a Time and worked on an afghan while Odin created a hanging garden on our back porch and planted Nasturtiums.

The afghan, by the way, is the Tech Square Afghan that I had started in January of 2011, with the intention of finishing it in the space of a year.  Last week, just before heading to knit night, I sat in my studio wondering what in the world I was going to take with me, picked up and put down several balls of yarn and WIPs before remembering this afghan.  I loaded the bag and took it with me.  Sunday saw the completion of another square, which needs to be blocked.  But I finished this one on Thursday:

Now I only have two squares to go – the intarsia and the fair isle.  I have been putting them off as the most fiddly and I didn’t like the geometric pattern in the intarsia one.  I tried to map my own and ripped it out twice before tossing the yarn aside today in a tangle of bobbins and circulars.

It feels good to be working on old projects.  I am looking forward to getting this one done and out of the way.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

