Let’s Go Fly A Kite

Finally!  The first signs of spring have begun showing themselves.  Walking to work this morning, I spotted a robin and immediately had to tell my mom.  It has been a long standing family tradition to see who could spot the red-breasted bearer of warm weather first.

This past weekend the sun was shining brightly and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky.  Odin wanted to head to the beach for some kite-flying, I wanted to explore.  Finally, we settled on finding some place outside of Chicago to go kite-flying.  We ended up packing up the car and taking a trip to Long Grove.  Long Grove is a quaint historic village that has a lot of funky shops and galleries.  In the summer there are a number of festivals that occur.  Dandy Things, a consignment shop I am a part of, just relocated to a larger storefront in Long Grove, and I wanted to check them out.

After exploring the town and checking out the shops, we found a park and began to fly our kites.

Our pirate ship didn’t fly very well, which is why it was photographed on the ground.  I think it needs a tail.

I also remembered, while we were in the park, that I was wearing a piece of knitting I had never actually photographed, but wear often since it was made last May.

The pattern: Louisa Lace Tunic, from French Girl Knits by Kristeen Griffin-Grimes.  Yarn: Cascade 128 Superwash Bulky.  It stretched like crazy in the blocking.  I just pulled the lace down so it would be longer instead of wider in the overall shape.  Mods: I made left it open in the front instead of stitching it closed like the pattern called for.  I like it much better this way.

Unfortunately, Sunday Ellette had a very high fever and spent most of the afternoon drooling sleeping on the couch.  I went to work this morning for a couple of hours and returned home to take care of her.  She doesn’t need much care taking right now and I have been able to spend some much needed time on wings and things.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thethingaboutjoan
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 14:49:22

    I think we have the same kite as you — the kids were trying to put it together for the weekend, but there’s something about 35+ mph winds that makes you wonder if the boat kite could handle it. We’ll also try to rig a tail — think a knitted one would work? 🙂

    Reply

  2. darciad
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 15:36:42

    Nothing makes my heart soar like kites on a spring day! I like your open front tunic better than their pullover style. Nice wrist warmers too!

    Reply

    • Little Green Pixie
      Mar 12, 2012 @ 16:10:52

      Thanks! It’s so hard to make flattering knits with bulky yarn. It’s best, in my opinion, to make open layers like that instead. But I’m the kind of person that has issues with long sleeves – short sleeved or sleeveless for me!

      The wrist warmers are fun, too. I found them at the Texas Renaissance Festival last November.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

