Bear With Me

Things have been pretty tumultuous lately.  And by pretty, I am really.  No, by really, I mean severely.  It’s been a constant dance of doing what I can with the weather while getting more orders, circumvent the weather (to no avail), and pacify a needy family.

I’m failing.

For one, the weather is not cooperating.  There are certain things that can only be done outside – for the safety and cleanliness of the household.  And it has been raining or drizzling or misting all week.

For two, I have been edgy and tempermental because things aren’t going according to plan.  The lack of professionalism in people I am working with is causing my schedule to be inaccurate.

Suffice to say I will not be at the Chocolate Festival in Long Grove due to a lack of coherent information in a timely fashion.

However, I have just signed a contract for the Evanston Famer’s Market – Home Grown Artists for several Saturdays beginning September 22nd and end October 27th.  The Farmer’s Market runs all summer, beginning this weekend, and continues into November.  I have just signed up for select weekends.

Also, I have changed around my June calendar a bit.  Instead of the Pirate Festival, I will be at the Fairy Day event on June 2nd and 3rd at Witchy Wearables in Midlothian.

And the following weekend, you will be reading blog posts from Hawaii – as our awesome roommate is taking us on vacation.  A much needed vacation.  And that is the understatement of the year.

For this trip to Hawaii, I got it stuck in my head that I could knit something fun and summery by the time we leave.  I got to thinking, and settled on the Tea Rose Halter from Interweave Spring 2007.  It is something that has been on my to-do list since I first saw it.  It is lacey and feminine and striking.  So when I went to knit night, I dug through the summer yarns for the perfect one.  The yarn is Firefly, by Classic Elite.

I got home, had a rough evening, and decided I was going to swatch and begin the top.  I went to the knitting bookshelf and looked through my magazines, and it wasn’t there.  I started rooting through every bag and yarn box in my studio looking for it. I pulled old suitcases out of the closet, I looked everywhere.  Couldn’t find it.

I thought it would be ok.  Interweave sells patterns online.  So, I went to their website.  This particular pattern, because it was part of the magazine, is only sold with the magazine, which is currently out of stock.

Crap.

Now, I have tons and tons of this yarn and don’t know what to do with it.  I want it to become something.  By June.  Something summery, and flirty, and quick.

I was thinking Norah Gaughan’s Roundabout Lead Tank .  This is another one I have been eyeing up for awhile.

Then, I started purusing Ravelry for projects using 900 yards of sport weight (or Dk or fingering).

There’s Stitch Diva’s Cecilia Vest and this really cool tank that I can’t pronounce.  There is a very sexy top – The Knitting Bohemian – which is an option as well.

Lastly, I do have enough yarn that I could make the Dahlia cardigan, which may be a good summery cardi.

I am trying to distract my troubles with fancy yarn.  What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

