Variation on a Theme

I am doing a combination of knitting, knotting, and painting around here and it is driving me up the wall.  I finally broke nd decided that, since our attic is not in use at the moment, I am moving my studio up there, where I can play movies and keep the lights on until the wee hours of the morning without being in anyone’s way (and without them being in mine) and I can leave projects cluttering the floorspace (of which there is much) without worrying about the cats trying to eat the tulle or spill the paint.

On the weekends, since we are away, I try to pack a big bag of yarn projects I can work on depending on various conditions.  I have the yarn for the rose headbands for occassions where I only have a few minutes, it’s dusty and I have no where to sit.  I have the yarn and implements for making miles and miles of cording for when I have a clean floor and plenty of conversation.  I have the fancy pants merino for the scarves and cowls for moments when there is peace without dirt and I can whip out those nicer projects for the shows.  In my purse I have colorwork mittens I am trying to work on, which take large amounts of concentration, so I don’t work on those as often.

I set a goal for myself for a large amount of knitted goods for the September and October fairs.  At the time, I thought this was wise, as those are the months when it starts to get chilly and people are looking to bundle up.  I am trying to make pumpkin hats and Zombie hats and flower hats, and a plethora of scarves and cowls.  That brings me to my topic for the day.  I have been trying to churn out Zigamorph scarves for weeks.  I have estimated that I could, theoretically, make one per day if I had not distractions and the perfect weather conditions (handling merino in 100* heat is terrible.  It’s like being trapped in h-e-double hockey sticks).

The Zigamorph scarf was designed as an eye-catching, quick knit using Madeline Tosh Merino – a soft and squishy single ply merino with a nice bounce and beautiful drape.  The subtle shifts in color and the sheen of the strands show of the dropped stitch pattern perfectly.  I have a few colors in this yarn, but is a bit on the pricey side.  Here is the scarf in MT’s Tomato Tart:

I have also been playing around with other yarns in thie pattern.  I have, in the past, tried plied yarn, and while the pattern is still stunning, it is not as inspired as single ply.  There isn’t the same look of loft about the project.  So, when I was purchasing yarn for stock, I also picked up Malabrigo.

I am not quite sure how I feel about this.  The yarn is soft and has a durable feel to it, like the un-plied yarn won’t start falling apart on you.  The drape is there, but missing that fluffy loftiness that the MT has.  It also has no sheen, so the colors look kind of flat.  Speaking of color, the all over patterning of this yarn, while interesting, is a bit distracting from the dropped stitch pattern.  This is just one color (Malambo), and I have a few more colors left to try, but as a point, I probably wouldn’t recommend this particular yarn for this project.

Lastly, I picked up Cascade Lana Bambu (color 08).

 

This has the loosely plied yarn with a nice drape and sheen.  The color patterning is somewhere between MT and Malabrigo, and I can’t quite decide if I like it.  It works with the pattern, I think, I just can’t decide if it is too much shifting or the specific shifts between colors that is throwing me off.  I also felt like the yarn was a bit splicey, and it makes me wonder what the life span of the scarf will be.  Will it pill and pull and end up mangled?  Or will the slippery nature of the yarn and the dropped stitches prevent that from happening?  I also have two more colors of this yarn to try.

The pattern, Zigamorph, is located here on Ravelry and here on Etsy; although right now it would be quicker to order from Ravelry.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. agujasblog
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 19:07:35

    I like the Zigamorph scarf in red.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

