Mondays Are For Random

  • I realize I have been absent lately, and I apologize.  Things have been kind of weird.
  • The Valparaiso thing wiped out a hefty chunk of my knitted stock, and that means I have been trying to catch up and then some so the following weeks don’t clear me out completely.
  • On Saturday I begin teaching Aerial Acrobatics at the Brookfield Dance Academy.  It feels a little strange, being in charge of a group of youngsters who think the sun shines from my rear end and I can do all sorts of amazing things.  I’ve only been doing aerial for two years, and I don’t think I know all that much.  I am confident in my abilities to teach someone safely how to do plenty of things on the apparatuses (lyra, silks, trapeze), but I don’t think I’m anything to gawk at.
  • We have a showcase in December and I have to choreograph for it.  That scares the snot out of me.
  • What this all means right now is that I am doing 4 hours of aerial each week – physically intense stuff, and trying to knit in between everything else.  My palms hate me for the callouses on them, my joints are cracking constantly – especially my knees and sternum (yeah, try cracking your sternum sometime.  Weirdest.  Sensation.  Ever.)
  • Four hours really doesn’t seem like that much time.  But now that I am doing four instead of two, it seems like an insane amount.
  • I can only knit in spurts, and I am constantly changing my needle size.  Right now, the chunky stuff feels really good.
  • We have a new roomie – she moved in last week.  It’s a temporary thing – a friend of a friend in desperate need of decent housing kind of thing.  I have a hard time turning down people in need.  I’m kind of a sucker that way.  Maybe one day Karma will send me a really nice reward – like never having to work in an office again.  Yeah, that would be nice.
  • This week I really need to buckle down and crank out tutus, cowls, and ruffle scarves.
  • I’m kind of addicted to the ruffle scarves:

 

  • I kind of like the muted rainbow factor of this one.  I’m using Knitting Fever – Flounce for all of them.
  • On top of all of this, which now that I’m looking at it, it seems kind of interesting, I have been in a really weird place emotionally.  I have been feeling like I’m in a slump.  A deja vu Groundhog Day kind of slump.  Now, I’m really trying to get out of it.
  • P.S. – Don’t forget about the Ravelry Promo!  $1 pattern (Precious Pumpkin Beret) for the month of September  when you use the code:  SEPTEMBER
Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

