Owls Emerging

Today, over my lunch hour, I decided to put some time into the owl socks.  I started them, and then they sort of sat there, just past the eye placement so I had their little green beady eyes watching me as I picked up other holiday knits to work on instead of them.  Silent, blue owls with their look of shame.

image

Okay okay, maybe not shame.  Imploring? Judging? All-Seeing all-knowing?

Over my lunch, I timed myself so I could better estimate how long it is going to take to knit – one chart repeat equals approximately one hour of work.  If I want to make them mid-calf it will be 7 hours of work per sock.  Combine that with the purple cape and it’s miles and miles of mindless stockinette, and those may be the only two things I complete this season and I still will lose my sense of sanity.  I don’t think there will be any hope for me this year.  *sigh*

I had the sock with me at work, and I was showing it to a few people (who knit or crochet, or used to) and asking questions about length and beads and whatnot.  One woman looked at the sock and thought it was nice, looked at the chart in a daze, and then realized that I was making tiny little owls.  She sort of lost it with excitement and for the next 5 minutes kept saying “Oh, it’s an owl!” and variations thereupon.  At least I know that if there is a fiber catastrophy or the recipient hates them, I can fall back on her.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

