Solstice

The winter solstice has always been a good day for me.  In my mind, it officially represents the end of the year, when the world is consumed by a long dark, and then the sun rises and we all start over.  The solstice is my soul’s reset button. It reminds me that whatever has been going that is bad will be taken care of, and I will be ok tomorrow.

I apologize for the silence here over the past couple of weeks.  It was by no means intentional, and I feel a little guilty because there should have been a lot to talk about – projects flying off the needles, travel preparations being made, and generally, a warm fuzzy holiday buzz.  Instead, it has been kind of cold, dark, and lonely as I cope with recent heartbreak.  I won’t get into the messy of it, but suffice it to say, I am trying to do better.  I have exercised a lot of self-reflection lately, and leaned a lot on my friends and family who have not waivered since it all happened.

But, through all that mess, I wasn’t knitting.  I just didn’t have the motivation in me.  My travel plans were tossed out the window, and now I am searching for a roommate while scrambling to make this holiday a good one for Ellette.

image

One set of fingerless mitts – almost done.  They need straps and buttons, but those are purely aesthetic, so if I don’t get around to it, no one’s the wiser (except you, of course).

image

Today, I finished one sock.  One. A second one needs to join it.  But when I finished this one, I held it up and wondered if maybe it was too short.  I don’t know what to do about it.  I think I may dig through my bin of knits-for-sale and find a nice scarf or something.  I don’t know yet.

image

I apologize for the dark photos, I was trying to keep this one a secret from Ellette.  This is her cape, blocking.  The fair isle came out really nice, and now I have to cut the steeks and make the button band.  I’m terrified that with my recent luck, I will screw something up and have to start over, at which point all hope for me is going out the window.

image

I don’t think this will take too long though.  One hour?  Maybe two?

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

