Resolutions

I have had quite a bit of time for reflection over the past week.  There have already been many trials for the new year, and somehow I have kept my cool and a smile while I shovel through the mess.  This “c’est la vie” attitude has been quite refreshing, and I have found myself all around in a better mood.  It would appear that the recent life changes have been good for me and I am determined to continue rolling with the punches.

I don’t normally give in to new year’s resolutions, but with the flurry of activity this week, I think it would be beneficial to have something to look back on that will keep my head on straight.  This is also so I can keep track of my goals to prevent December arriving and bringing with it the realization that I failed to complete half of the things I had meant to do for the year.  Lastly, I may need a gentle nudge every now and then if when I begin to stray.

So, in no particular you order:

  • I want to knit a dress this year.  It is something I keep “meaning” to do, and never seem to find time for.  So, this year, it is going to happen.  I cannot decide if it is going to be a pattern by someone else, or one of the dozen in my head.
  • With the partner moving out, I need to make room for the roommates moving in.  This means I am giving up my craft room.  I know, I know – horror.  I’m managing.  Everything is getting sorted through and reorganized to optimize space and fit into my little bedroom.  There is some spillage, I admit.  My ready-to-ship items are occupying the loft in the pantry (why we have a loft in our pantry, I will never know), but the wips and materials are in my closet, a tall bookshelf, and a spare dresser in my room.  The three-drawer-dresser is currently housing my yarn, and of course the yarn is filling boxes and bags in my closet (and on my floor, actually, as I try to locate all of the renegade balls for organization – you understand).  In any case, my goal is to yarn diet until all of my wool fits into this dresser.   This will protect my wallet and the personal space of my housemates – and really, my wool as well since my cats love to sleep with it.  While filling the drawers, I organized it so the top drawer is filled with immediate projects, the second with projects I would like to do, and the third with wool that sort of has a purpose, but nothing solid.
  • On that note, I want to finish up all of my works-in-progress.  The Two Year Tech Square Afghan that really just needs finishing, the Christmas socks that never got finished, the Chess Board, the shawl I started in DC this past summer.  If it is not going to be finished, it must be frogged so that I can have a fresh start.  I will not make a rule that I cannot cast on while I am finishing (I may or may not be obsessed now with this crazy granny square afghan I may or may not have started this week….).  I am going to burn that candle at both ends, just for the fun of it.
  • I want to spend one Sunday each month to explore something new about Chicago.  I never intended to live here very long (and still don’t), but I never took the time to see the city.  I closed myself off to the possibility of liking it because I just wanted to move on.  It’s hard to say how much time we have left here, and I would like to search out friends, stories, and adventures whenever I can.
  • I am going to save up money for more intensive workshops, classes, and possibly certificates in aerial acrobatics, because that is what I love to do most right now, and I really want to pursue it as a career.  This is also going to help me move out of the Midwest.
  • I will attend the Aerial Dance Festival this summer.  Nothing will hold me back.
  • I am going to push myself to be social, even if I feel like being a hermit, because the past month has really opened my eyes as to how much I had been on my own, and how unhappy that was making me.  I need to cultivate the friendships I have and seek out new ones.
  • I will try not to be such a control freak.  The world will never bend at my will and nothing is as important as I think it is.  I must slow down, relax, and see life from different perspectives.
  • I will work hard to realize all of the beautiful designs in my head and share them with all of you knitters.

I think this is a good point from which to launch.  A diverse enough list, with physical, emotional, and mental goals to be achieved at various levels of difficulty.  I have high hopes from what lies ahead.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Halfway There | Little Green Pixie

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

