Swatch You Looking At?

Ellette’s birthday is quickly approaching, and I have been occupied by other things.  With money being as tight as it is around here, I thought long and hard about what to do.  The big expense was for her party – we are seeing the Actor’s Gymnasium’s production of Skooled with about 12 other kids and renting a room in the facility for cake and presents afterwards.  That left little budget to work with in regards to a present.

image

Luckily, I have more yarn than I need at the moment, and Ellette is the kind of kid who loves the fact that I knit, and lo, I knit for her!  She wants to show off everything I make and tries to take care of it.  I know that every moment I spend making her things is cherished.  So, I did a stash dive and came up with several balls of Cotton Painte in this beautiful blue.  Ellette is really into layering her clothes, and I want something she can wear into the hot summer months, so I decided a flowy vest would be perfect.  I swatched the above lace patterns before realizing how similar they are.  Trust me, they are different!  Still, I had a good laugh at myself once I set the swatch to block and measured my gauge.

image

A bit of math and a couple false starts later, and the vest is flying by.  I started the second ball and measure 6 inches.  The only shaping involved is going to be for the arm holes, and then I will add a drape-neck collar with whatever yarn I have leftover.

And, before you ask, I am taking meticulous notes because I do want to make one for myself.  Thankfully, Ellette is at an age still where matching her mother is kind of cool and not embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

