Hey Knitters! HELP!

Yesterday, I cast off the neck edge for Ellette’s vest, held it up, and groaned.  The neck is not drapey – not at all.  It rolls and looks heavy and old-lady-ish.  Not at all what I had in mind for the birthday vest.  I want something flowy and fun and summery.

image

I stretcehd the neck as much as possible, pulled it in toward the center, stared at it, asked the others in the house what they thought, wondered if I should wait until I see it on Ellette before I make any decision but decided that would sort of ruin the birthday surprise.

image

The back, at least, turned out exactly the way I wanted it.  The diamond lace pattern is gorgeous.

image

But the front?  No way! So, all of you knitters and crafters out there – what are your thoughts?  What would you do?  Should I steam block and hope the fibers relax?  Should I rip it out entirely and do a different stitch pattern?  Should I rip back only a few inches and add increases in key areas?

I have 3 days left!  HELP!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela P.
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 12:13:43

    Do you think a picot edge would give you the flatness your looking for? I feel it would carry the lacy pattern to the edge so it might fit in. Good luck. I look forward to the finished vest.

    Reply

  2. Little Green Pixie
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 12:19:30

    A picot edge would be very pretty. Do you think it would have the drape I am looking for?

    Reply

  3. sweatyknitter
    Mar 01, 2013 @ 19:33:02

    The drape is affected also by fiber content, spin/twist, gauge – as well as pattern. You could rip it back and do a simple lace garter stitch – lighter weight than straight stitch and probably won’t roll.

    Reply

  4. Pamela P.
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 08:09:52

    I think the picot would have drape. You could do a small swatch. What if you increased the number of stitches for the edge? That would force more of a drape. What did you decide?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

