Task List

In one week, we leave for 4 days to attend the Lakes of Fire Festival in Michigan.  I am attending with a group of people in a themed campsite – Gothee House, a goth coffee house.  Everyone is contributing time and resources to help this camp become realized.  My contribution thus far as has been the chalkboard.

image

We made it using a 2 by 4 foot sheet of plywood and a handy can of chalkboard paint.  I added 3 coats, and I think it’s going to work lovely.  The darker black on the two edges is simple black acrylic paint so we can drill holes without damaging the chalkboard surface.  The decals were a total experiment, and I’m glad they turned out well.  I wanted to add some sort of gothic border to the board to make it interesting.  I found some stencils at a craft store and debated the color of paint to use for a while.  The gold really pops.  I’m a little bummed that the lines of the scroll-work isn’t clear in all of them.  It was difficult to keep it clean and prevent the paint from dripping.  I took a wet Q-tip and tried my best to thin some of the lines and clean up stray dots of paint.  Some parts of the board, while not showing gold directly, appear to glimmer if you look at them from an angle where the glitter from the paint has dried.  I have 10 small signs left to make, also chalkboard, and I’m not sure if I’m going to add any stencil detail.  I think I should, but I suppose it all boils down to how much time I have.

I also have a ton of pillow cases to sew and about 25 candles to make (I’ve never made candles before, this is exciting!) And we leave on Thursday.

This weekend is the Custer Street Fair here in Evanston.  I am face painting, like I have done for the past few years.  I’m looking forward to it.  The fact that I am no longer doing fairy costuming at shows is still new for me, and I find myself in moments of panic, thinking I’m not ready, not ready, not ready.  I have to take a deep breath and remind myself that I have everything I need, and I have to breathe deep.

 

image

In between all this prep work for Lakes of Fire and Custer, I am churning out crocheted roses for consignment at a friend’s shop.  I have more projects I’m working on, but very intermittently.  I don’t think I will be able to get to my leisure knitting and pattern production for about two weeks, which kind of makes me sad and a little irritable.

I’m going to try to write about the candles and the sewing and definitely the fair, but if the blog goes dark over the next week or so, at least you will know that it is because of a hectic flurry of craft activity over here, and I will have loads to tell you when I return!

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

