Custer’s Last Stand Festival of the Arts

Today, I write to you exhausted but content.  I had a lovely weekend face painting at the 42nd annual (and my 3rd year!) Custer’s Last Stand Festival of the Arts, which takes place less than a mile from my apartment.  This is one of my favorite places to work, and so far this year is the only big festival I plan on doing.

image

Ellette, of course, was the first to get painted.  I tend to make a rule with her that if I am painting her face, I get to decide what she looks like.

image

Saturday morning gave us rain, but it cleared up around 1.  The morning was slow enough for me that I could afford a little more detail and attention to patrons.

image

Whole families stopped by.

image

Last year, this girl had me paint her face as a daisy.  This year, she wanted a rose.  I’m excited to see what she wants next year.

image

My favorite requests are the ones that challenge me.  I am getting bored with butterflies, tigers, and dragons.  This girl wanted a mocking jay pin – a reference to something I completely forgot – one of those blah *games* blah shows or movies.

image

Sunday was father’s day, and I had a couple of “tattoo” pieces that celebrated Dad,

image

A rainbow tiger brigade came through.

image

And one of my favorite pieces of the weekend – a ballerina.  This young girl and I sat talking about what kind of pose the ballerina should do.  I like the way the silhouette turned out, rather than doing it in color.  I think it makes the piece more dramatic.

One of the things about this weekend that made it worth while is that many of the kids that waited so patiently in line were there because I had painted them last year, and/or the year before, and they love my work and energy.  It really touches my heart to have met so many families that look for me time and time again.  This is why I started doing what I do, why being a children’s entertainer and teacher is important to me, and why I am trying to pursue it as a full time gig.

To all the families and friends that stopped by, waited in line, poked their head in to say hello, and especially to the people who brought me food, water, and lemonade because I was constantly surrounded by kids and paint and couldn’t move – you made my weekend fantastic!  Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

