Overwhelmed – My Packing List and Me

I’ve been up late every night this week packing, thinking about packing, worrying about packing enough of the right things, worrying about packing too much, and sometimes even dreaming about packing (that was a weird one).

We leave tomorrow. To put it into perspective, I bite my nails as a nervous habit.  I’ve got no more nail left to bite.  I want to get on the road so that I can stop overthinking about what I’m bringing (There is currently a bright pink, poofy prom skirt draped over my boxes as I hem and haw over bringing it).

The spreadsheets are what keep me sane.  I have been eyeing them up to figure out what still needs to be purchased (camp fuel, batteries and vinegar) and what needs to be packed still (not much, in truth), and what has already been packed.  I am looking at the boxes of three people’s possessions in the dining room and I wonder how we are going to fit it all in the SUV tomorrow morning.  My travelling companions have agreed to stand back while I and my innate special reasoning and mad-Tetris skills work to fit everything in the car.

I have three knitting projects set aside to accompany me.  One pair of socks, one pair of shorts I’ve been meaning to design, and 3 balls of a chunky yarn that has been destined to become some sort of sweater for Ellette.  I’m calculating 70 hours on the road, half of which I am going to be driving, and a third of the remainder I will probably be sleeping, which leaves around 20 hours of prime knitting time there and back.  I am also estimating upwards of 6 hours in a gridlock waiting to enter and exit Black Rock City, so an additional 12 hours added to my prime knitting time.  Am I delusional in thinking that one of these items can be completed in that allotted 32 hours?  Should I be adding another ball of yarn?  Oh dear…

Tonight is the last night to prep.  I am going to finish the purchasing of items and collect the straggling bits that need to be packed.  Pile everything in the corner and reassess.  Then, I am going to see if I can fit anything into smaller boxes, or if I can split up a big box into two smaller boxes for easier packing.

I will be able to blog until we get past Reno, at which point a lovely friend of mine will be guest blogging for me.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

