The Million Stitch Bind Off (In Other Words: HELP!)

Well, this is it.  Clue 4 of the Mystery Knit-Along was delivered in the evening on Thursday, and I packed up my shawl and took it with us apple picking so I could complete it over the weekend mini-escape.  Fat lot of good that did.  Between driving, eating, touring antique stores, and picking apples in the rain, I didn’t have much time for knitting.  Not to mention there are a whopping 800 stitches on my needles right now, which leaves each row taking up at least 30 minutes.  But, I am finally on the bind off, so the end is in sight!

 

mkal

 

I waited a while before settling on the bind off method.  Mr. West gave us 3 options (not that we are limited to those three, I should call them more “suggestions”) for the bind off.  I was unsure how I wanted it to look, so I waited to see what others did and how it affected the appearance and drape of the finished garment.  For a while, I was leaning towards the I-Cord bind off, because I liked the clean lines of the shawl laying flat.  The picot-bind off seemed out of place with the clean geometric lines of the body.  Then, I saw the picot-bind off wrapped around shoulders, heads, and bundled close to faces, and I liked the ragged post-apocalyptic feel of the piece, and the contrast made sense.

The biggest problem with the picot bind off?  I have to add double the amount of stitches.  That means, I cast on three stitches, then decrease 6, then cast on 3, and decrease 6.  I should have read the notes before choosing this bind off – there are some for whom it took 3 to 5 hours.

It’s been so scrunched up for most of the knitting experience that, at this point, I am riding on faith that the end result will be amazing.  I am in love with the color combination – and even more so since I received clue 4, but there is a lot of yarn in my stash calling my name, and I really want to wrap this up before my hands begin to wander.

So, I suppose, what I am writing to say here is that I could use some words of encouragement.  Help me get through 1600 stitches of bind off!  A limerick? A proverb? An anecdote?  What do you have to keep my needles clicking?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. creative pixie
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 12:05:40

    Sounds likes you have an enormous job ahead of you. Good luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

