In Which the End is Near

Last night, the youngster and I packed up our bags and went to knit night, which we haven’t done in ages because of how crazy our world has been lately.  Traveling, working, traveling, resting, cleaning, traveling, etc.  There was very little desire to leave the house in between everything.  I’m glad I went, because the solid chunk of time for knitting with other people gave me a hefty push towards completion.  I didn’t feel like I was binding off a million stitches, I felt like I was keeping my hands busy in between laughter.  Before I knew it, I was done with one whole side of the triangle (the longest side), and a couple inches past the corner.  I put it down then, because more people showed up and I was no longer able to count to six, and picked up a different project: Windschief, by Stephen West.  This is more holiday knitting.  I made it a couple of inches in, then realized it was going to be too small, so I ripped it and started over.  Now, I wonder if it’s going to be too big, but don’t want to rip it out again.  The brim seems tight enough, so it may end up more of a slouch hat.

image

Anyway, when I got home, I wasn’t quite ready to sleep.  It may have been the latte I had a craving for as we were walking to the train, or it may have been the eagerness to finish the shawl, or it may have been that there has been so much going on lately that I haven’t finished processing everything internally.  In either case, I trudged along diligently on the picot bind-off, and before my eyes started dropping, was pleased to discover that I had made it past the second side (the shortest side) and several inches into the last side.  I don’t want to think about how many stitches are left, or really think about how many I’ve made so far.  The delight of seeing the project sort-of flat has given me hope.

 

The end is near!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mistine
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 18:38:01

    I think the picot bind off is perfect, it looks great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

