How to Not Knit a Hat

Today’s post is brought to you by the letter F and the number 2.

F is the 6th letter in the English alphabet (I actually had to use my fingers to figure that one out). 

F is for Flounder, Flop, Flunk, Fail, and a really bad word not suitable for children’s ears that I seem to have been saying a lot in the past 24 hours.

The number 2 is a rather elusive prime number that I CANNOT COUNT TO!!  WHO CAN’T COUNT TO TWO?  1…..2…. See? Done.

Except when you start knitting a hat and the pattern says “Repeat rounds 1 & 2 until piece measures 5 inches” and I diligently repeat only round 2 for 5 slogging inches.

Considering how the past couple weeks have been going, blow after blow to the point where I’m super bummed, exhausted, and scatterbrained, I thought a hat would be simple enough.  I picked out Windschief by Stephen West – what I thought would be a simple, masculine hat fit for a holiday gift.  My first cast on was a failed attempt.  It was too tight, and I knit 3 inches, held it up and said to the ladies at knit night – “This is way to small for a man’s head” which they all agreed to, and proceeded to frog it.  I cast on the medium size and went up a needle size, worked for 5 inches, wondering if maybe it was a little too wide now (people assured me it wasn’t), and why it had this weird curve to the brim, until I got the point of decreasing for the crown.   I referred back to the pattern and saw my mistake. I wasn’t counting right.

I think I nearly cried.  I’m so out of it, I can’t even count to two.

Tonight will be brought to you by the letter W for Whiskey and the number who-gives-a-crap-I-can’t-count-to-it-anyway.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris Furuya
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 10:11:43

    It’s ok. Depending on the color you choose, that could just make the wearer look like they have scene hair.

    Reply

  2. Mistine
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 18:18:00

    I second the letter W, but for counting you should practice with shots.

    Have shot #1 then shot #2. Repeat shot 1 and 2 until you’ve learned to count 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

