Something Finished Something Started

With NaKniSweMo starting on Friday, I have been simultaneously prepping for that while wrapping up everything else possible.  The yarn is purchased and wound (I have just over 1500 yards here, I really hope that’s enough, but get the feeling I should buy one or two more skeins).  I am knitting An Aran for Frederick, which has been in my queue since the pattern was released a couple years ago.  It was the first aran I saw that I thought suited my desires in an aran sweater.

image

For those of you who don’t know what NaKniSweMo is, let me explain.  The month of November has traditionally been allocated to budding writers as a challenge to write a full novel with a 50,000 word count within the 30 day month.  It has been called NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month.  Well, knitters (and to a lesser extent, crocheters) have decided to take the month for themselves and create our own challenge.  Enter, NaKniSweMo (or NaCroSweMo) – National Knit a Sweater Month.  We have 30 days to knit a sweater consisting of at least 50,000 stitches.  Seems like a lot, right?  Most adult sized sweaters knit with a standard worsted weight yarn have at least 50k stitches in them, so it’s not too much of a stretch for most.  This will be my second year participating.  Last year, I made Barberry and discovered a lot of useful information about knitters, math, and technology (I had so many awesome spreadsheets to manage my stitch count).  I finished in 28 days with a stitch count exceeding 66 thousand.  This is still my go-to sweater!

image

So, last night I stayed up later than I meant to, determined to make as much headway as possible before Friday.  I finished my pokeball purse – a holiday gift.  Although, when I finished weaving in the ends and got a good look at it, it strikes me as more of a magic pill (think the Matrix) than a pokeball.  The bottom is not rounded enough.  I will get through as much other knitting as possible, and if I still don’t like it later, I will rip back to the red and try again.  It’s a good, mindless pattern, so I think it’ll go by quickly.

I worked a bit on other things, but they didn’t end up complete which is why they are not pictured.  I worked a few more rows on Esjan and even brought out my Tech Square Afghan!  I worked on some of the duplicate stitch things (the major thing I’ve been putting off), and then sewed on some of the embellishments.  It needs probably 20 minutes of loving before being complete, and my own resolution is that I have it done by Thursday night.  Tonight I have my Cyr wheel class and will be getting home late and sore, so I’m not sure how much I can accomplish tonight.

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

