NaKniSweMo Day 13 (or) Hope In a Sleeve

The body is getting really tedious now.  I have a few more inches left to knit before I attach the sleeves, and last night it was driving me crazy!  So far, the body contains 24,640 stitches, nearly half the minimum requirement for the challenge, and just under half of my total stitches.  It’s been time consuming, but not terribly difficult.  I don’t like how often I have to check my work to make sure I cabled correctly.  At least the cables themselves are fairly easy, even the center “Celtic Flourish” cable that initially drew me to the pattern. I was kind of surprised just how easy it actually is.

image

I need something that moves quicker, however.  I keep chugging along on the body, but it doesn’t appear to get any longer (that Knitter’s Black Hole phenomenon).  That requires a fair amount of determination and faith, and those are things I have, but I need a bit of sunshine every once in a while to maintain the appropriate levels of determination and faith.  Enter the sleeve.

When I was packing my knitting bag before work today, I stuffed the sweater into it, made sure I had the pattern and an extra ball of yarn (the one attached to the project was running low).  And then I decided to throw my DPNs in the bag because…darnit…I want something that knits up quicker!  Coming in at only 58 stitches per round, the sleeve is the solution.  It shouldn’t take too long to reach the necessary 17 inches (she says, knocking on wood), and I’m hoping the success of completing a sleeve will give me the fortitude to keep chugging along on the body.  Ideally, the sleeve will be done before Friday, and the torso will be done by Monday evening at the latest.  That gives me another week to make the second sleeve, a week for the yoke and shoulders, and a few days for finishing up and blocking.  Ideally.

image

There are 418 stitches in the sleeve so far, so adding that to the torso I have a grand total of 25,058 stitches knit out of 61,138 estimated total stitches.  That is approximately 41% of the total and November is 43% complete.  That means that I am almost on track, and at least not terribly far behind.  Tonight, after my circus class, I look forward to tea and knitting.  Something about being so close but still slightly behind really ramps up my adrenaline and sense of urgency.  I realize it’s just a sweater, but I’m excited to find out if I’ll make it in time.  Do you think I can?

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

