NaKniSweMo Day 14 (or) Cable Surgery and Learning How to Count

I was happily knitting away on my sleeve, wondering if I found the black hole of sleeves because it didn’t really feel like it was going any faster.  I was wondering why my math said I only knit about 400 stitches on the sleeve when I’d completed 3 inches or so.  It didn’t make sense to me.  So I sat for a minute, staring at my progress, and that’s when it jumped out at me.

image

Do you see it?  Right there at the top of the OXO cable – that cable that is supposed to make lovely hugs and kisses for the wearer.  Do you see that it laughs at me, deciding instead to start producing horseshoes or fishtails or whatever you want to call it but it sure isn’t the heart-warming O’s and X’s I was aiming for?  I was stunned momentarily and couldn’t believe that I’d missed it.  So, how do I fix it without losing time and inches ripping back to the offending crossover?

image

I carefully unraveled the cable to the row before the cross.  I kept my face very near the work – I’m sure everyone else in the café thought I must be one sheep short of a flock, but I didn’t care, I didn’t notice.  Nothing else matters when you’re performing cable surgery like this.

image

And slowly, I reknit the isolated stitches until my cable was corrected, and then I knit past the mistake as though it had never happened.  I have 6.5 inches here, about one third the total sleeve length.  It feels like it’s taking forever and I realized today that yes, the rounds are a helluva lot shorter than the body, but 2000 stitches is still 2000 stitches, any way you knit it.  It doesn’t take me any less time to produce a stitch on the sleeve than on the body.

While I was entering my progress into my spreadsheet, that’s when I noticed my counting error.  It was purely a mathematical error in the way I wrote the formulas in the spreadsheet, which means I am not as far behind as I thought I was.  Actually, I’m not behind at all.

The month of November is 46% complete, and so is my sweater, with a current total at 28,114 stitches knit.

Do you know what this means?  It means that tonight when I go home to knit, I will actually be ahead.  I know, amazing.  Are you as excited for this as I am?  While these be the only errors I produce?  Or, will something even more tragic reveal itself before the month is out?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela P.
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 15:48:39

    I am more excited about you understanding the structure of the stitches and being able to rip and reknit only the part you need to. I get excited about stitch structure. Good Going!

    Reply

    • Little Green Pixie
      Nov 14, 2013 @ 16:07:43

      I love exploring the way things are knit! I wish more people understood why certain sweaters are knit seamless and others look best if you keep them seamed. How cables and textured stitches add warmth and loftiness, and ribbing gives shaping. I hate reading people complain about patterns because they changed around some crucial structural element to make their experience “easier”, but the result was ill-fitting garments or unflattering sagging. There is so much engineering in knitting – it’s beautiful!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

http://livesoftheaerialists.com/

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Circus Smirkus official Blog: the Story of 1,000 Stories

Vermont's award-winning, international youth circus!

Pollyanna Rainbow Sunshine and the Needles of Doom

Fiber, craft, life, and random silliness

creativepixie.wordpress.com/

eat up some crafty goodness with a creative momma

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

The Circus Diaries

A Critical Exploration of The Circus World...

art predator

art predator )'( seek to engage the whole soul

This Is What it is

A topnotch WordPress.com site

she shoots sheep shots

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Half Crunchy Mom

No Extremes, No Judgement

by Annie Claire

Just a Crazy Fiber Fairy

Belle Memorie

Providing advice and inspiration for your authentically you wedding do!

No Parachute Theatre

theatre.aerial.dance

From My Insides Out

My journey to save myself

